Five for Friday: Melissa’s List of Suck & Five for Friday Becomes a Blog Hop!

It’s Friday and you know what that means!  Whoop, whoop, the weekend….well that and a new Five for Friday post.  After much thought and the final ever posting on Trifecta (who closed their doors last week) as well as the announcement of Twisted Mixtape Tuesday closing their doors, I’ve decided to turn this into a blog hop.  Now,  at the onslaught, I’ve agreed to be patient with this “project”.  I know 100 bloggers will not link up day one and honestly, I’m not sure I want it to grow to those proportions!  But one thing I’ve learned over my nearly one year at this is that writing is a lot more fun in a community.  Much like life, almost everything is better with friends.  So read through my 5 and then create your own Five for Friday post and attach it using the linking tool at the bottom.  Let’s get to listing!

This week is all about shortcomings.  While I like to think (and sometimes pretend) that I’m perfect, I realize that’s very far from true.  We all have things at which we just never seem to excel.  Here are my 5.

Melissa’s List of Suck

5:  Skiing

So luckily I’m not a big fan of cold weather and therefore not naturally inclined to seek a ski resort out for a vacation, because man am I a shitty skier.  I went.  Once.  That was enough.  I’ve heard that my biggest mistake is that I let my cousin’s husband convince me that,  because I’m athletic, I didn’t “need an instruction session”.  And what he meant by that was that I didn’t need any instruction at all.  Yeah, it turned out not so true.  After approximately 10 minutes on the bunny slopes he took me to the next level up where this happened:

Art of Skiing 3

So apparently you’re supposed to swish from side to side while skiing.  Flying straight down the hill is ill advised.

Oh well, who wants to spend a ton of money and forever getting suited up anyway?  Beach please.

4:  The purse of despair.

I’m a neat, organized person.  My house is clean.  My car is clean.  My office is an organizer’s dream.  Then there’s this:

IMG_0202[1]

You may be thinking, “hey, not so bad”; well the picture does it little justice AND I just cleaned this purse out on Sunday.  Yep, random bills floating around, a pack of energy chews I’ve been carting around to months (just in case I want to eat them), papers…so many papers.  I’m not sure why my purse doubles as both a trashcan and piggy bank.  It only gets cleaned out when the coins have accumulated a weight of roughly 20 lbs. or I end up dumping out the contents in frustration because I can’t find something (like say, house keys).

3:  Talking on the phone.

Unless you’re my Mom (or on the rare occasion he answers the phone, my Dad), I probably don’t want to talk to you.  I really don’t even know why my iPhone needs a call function.  It should just have an app that says, CALL MOM.  The rest of the numbers can be pushed only to text functionality.

285539_462653020446749_556679270_n

2: Following through on hobbies.

Now, I’ve always been great at sticking to fitness (we won’t comment on nutrition here), so I’m not counting that as a hobby.  But let’s explore what happened with a few of the hobbies I tried to pick up:

Crochet:  Taught myself how to do this, completed 95% of an afghan, lost interest, afghan has been sitting in a basket unfinished for over 3 years.

Guitar:  Got a guitar, tried to follow along with some home instruction, got bored and frustrated, guitar has been sitting in its case untouched for over a year.  *I really want to learn guitar, but I’m going to have to have live instruction to make it happen.

Extreme couponing:  Learned the method to the madness, clipped a shit ton of coupons, saved a heap of money, got bored.  Ugh, too much work.  I’ll just pay more for stuff.

1:  Not sweating the small stuff.

Now, based on number two, you may be thinking I’m completely fine leaving things unfinished.  That’s so not true!  For some reason that ability to let go only applies to hobbies.  In my life and my job, I’m obsessive.  House cleaning is a prime example.  My house is generally pretty clean and when contrasted with the norm, it’s quite clean.  But I come from a long line of neat freaks and so it’s never good enough.  I’m sitting here right now mentally Swiffering my floor and worrying about the shine on my granite.  It’s ridiculous.

You don’t want to be around me prepping for a party at my place.  I worry.  About everything.

19696

What 5 things do you suck at?  Link your post here!

 

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

 

Stay positive and love your life!

-Melissa

 

Today:

Listening to:

8 thoughts on “Five for Friday: Melissa’s List of Suck & Five for Friday Becomes a Blog Hop!

  1. I’m with you on skiing… went once in sixth grade for a school field drip and it didn’t end well at all. (Oh, and I’m not athletic at all… really surprised I didn’t end up breaking one of the non-athletic bones in my body!)

    As for five things I suck at… geez, narrowing that down to five would be impossible 🙂

  2. Girl that is your purse pic on a good day. A real good day. Can’t even begin to count the number of times I had to go excavating for some damn gum in that thing. Yeah you suck at that. But guess what I suck at? Holding in surprises.

    Someone is getting a really cool tomato plant. But I can’t say who.

    This is where my suck-ness comes into play…. YOU GETTIN A TOMATO PLANT! YOU GET A TOMATO PLANT, YOU GET A TOMATO PLANT, EVERYONE IS GETTING ATOMATO PLANT!

    Secret blown. (Except for that one time I didn’t spill the beans on your engagement. I’m good at keeping in the big ones) But you still getting a tomato plant so SURPRISE!

  3. I learned how to ski more or less the same way, with the advantage that I was criminally hung over at the time.
    And I loved it!

    Definitely get a good guitar teacher. Makes the frustration of learning a lot easier to bear.

    • Yeah, I don’t think I’m disciplined enough to follow a boring video or book. I need someone physically there. They’re harder to find than you think!

  4. I play my guitar about once a month, maybe twice, never longer than 15 minutes. I just play along to my iTunes acct on my phone or youtube.

  5. Pingback: Quick Stepp | Twisted Mix Tape Tuesday: Till Next Time

Okay, your turn to talk!

