I’m Shakin’

In a little over 5 months, I get to marry my best friend.  I honestly don’t think it’s possible for me to be any happier.  Each day just seems nearly too good to be true.

He and I have history.  We met in college.  We’ve both admitted that while love at first sight may not exist, we both caught each others eye and that was that.  I made any excuse I could to be around him.  He made me smile.  He also had a girlfriend and I was coupled with the devil incarnate.  So we left it at a friendship, though we both knew we should be together.

And then life happened.  He moved away for grad school and got married.  I finished grad school and started on the path to my current career.  There were other boyfriends.  Good boyfriends, good people.  But no one ever really fit me.

I met him out with my current boyfriend at the time once.  He brought his wife.  It was awkward.  We sat across the table from each other, just two old friends.  Two old friends who never wanted to be friends.

More time went by.  And roughly a decade after the day we met a fateful “how are you doing text” started a communication that’s never ceased.  His marriage was over and I was flying solo.  It was finally our time.  And we both seized the opportunity.  We haven’t looked back since.

Well, that’s not entirely true.  We look back all the time!  It’s fun to reminisce about how truly clueless we were back in the day.  It’s crazy that we missed each other.  It’s stupid that neither of us said the right words at the right time.

But as with many things in life, timing is everything.  I don’t for a minute regret us taking the paths we did.  Yes, no one desires divorce or a failed relationship, but they teach us.  The years taught us both how to be better partners.  They taught us what we wanted; what makes us happy.  We grew up and learned about ourselves.  So now that we’re finally together, we can really appreciate how truly special our relationship is.

IMG_0789

 

So, all that as back story for this week’s 100 Word Song inspired by Jack White’s “I’m Shakin”.  It’s about my first road trip to see him  after our reconnection.  Go visit my friend Lance over at My Blog Can Beat Up Your Blog and share your 100 word story!
245 miles.

That gives me roughly 4 hours  to compose myself.  Shit, I’m nervous. It’s a good nervous though, the kind that leaves you antsy and causes your heart to randomly flutter.

115 miles.

Ok, only an hour and a half to go. Just a quick stop to apply deodorant. Jesus, why am I sweating so badly?  Maybe I’ll just roll down the window a bit, get some air in here.

2 miles.

There’s the exit. This is it. The moment of truth.

Parking lot.

There he is. Smiles, flutters, roller-coaster tummy.  I’m shakin’. The car door opens.

Hi there.

 

 

 

Stay positive & love your life!

-Melissa

19 thoughts on “I’m Shakin’

  1. I loved every word.
    Your story is so hopeful, happy and HAPPENING.

    I am thrilled for you (and since many of us have had that moment in the parking lot, the middle of the street, the phone call etc) we know how good it feels.

    CONGRATULATIONS and Cheers to the road that brought you together.

  2. Thanks for letting me see your heart, here.

    My wife and I have so much history/baggage, too and yet, here we are.

    Congratulation and keep rolling with your happy. Hopefully it will make you an even better writer. Great 100….

  3. What a great love story!! 🙂

  4. What a great story! It was made even better by the fact that it’s true. Congratulations on your upcoming marriage. Tomorrow is my 33rd anniversary, and I love that man more today than ever. I pray the same for you… that you will love each other through the good times and the bad, and that your love for one another will grow stronger with each day that passes.

    God bless you,
    Cheryl

  5. I love your 100 word response… but the romantic in me loves your back story even more! Congratulations 🙂

  6. Love your story. It stands very well on its own without the backstory, but the backstory makes it even better.

    And Congratulations!!! My wife and I knew each other when we were younger, and while it would have been fun back then, it wouldn’t have been near as good as it is now.

  7. Thanks so much! You’re right, i sometimes think about all the years we missed together, but were we truly ready? I’m not so sure. I know I’ve grown a lot over the years.

  8. What a sweet story!! Congratulations on your pending nuptials and prayers and best wishes for a lifetime of continued love and happiness for the both of you.

  9. That is a sweet, wonderful love story. I’m very happy for you both and wish you many long years of love, happiness and laughter.

Okay, your turn to talk!

