Hideaway

So last Monday my good bloggy buddy Lance over at My Blog Can Beat Up Your Blog tagged me in a blog tour entitled, “My Writing Process”.  Even though I am pretty sure my process is non-existent, I’ll play along.

Step 1:

Acknowledge the person and site who involved you in the tour.

Yeah, already did.  It was Lance.  Go visit him.  He rules.

Step 2:

Answer four questions about your writing process-

1)  What am I working on?

Shit, I’m supposed to be working on something?!  Hmmm, I guess a whole lot of everything and nothing all at once.  I had this serialized horror story going on for a while, but I kind of lost interest in it/go bored writing it.  Maybe I’ll pick it up again one day.  If you’d like to check it out, you can do so here.

I take a stab at some short fiction pieces here on this blog, but many times I simply just come up with an excuse to bitch about something or post about music and such.

Lance got me involved with working with Lefty Pop a few months ago.  I post snarky, sarcasm laden articles there every Thursday at 5 PM EST.  Here’s a link to my latest there.

Other than that, work and this whole planning a wedding thing keeps a girl pretty busy.

2) How does my work differ from others of its genre?

Not sure that I can claim a genre yet.  One day I hope to write something in the fantasy or horror realm and you can bet it will smart-assy in style.  I’ve also toyed with the idea of writing a fictionalized memoir.  Some aspects of my life have been seriously odd and entertaining, but they’d need to be supped up in order to create something someone other than my Mom would want to read.

3)  Why do I write what I do?

Because it’s what I enjoy reading.  I seek out blogs that post either smart-ass humor, rants, or something about music.  When I read blogger’s fiction (or books), I tend to veer toward fantasy and horror more frequently than any other genres; though I do read a bit of everything.

4) How does your writing process work?

Like I said, I don’t have a process of which I’m aware.  Maybe I’m too new to this to have really thought it through.  Having a “process” is something “real” writers have.  Right now I’m at Pinocchio level.  Maybe one day I’ll chop the strings.

Step 3:

Say who is on the week after (your chosen three) AND give a one sentence bio and link to their website.

Even though I’m unsure if they’ll want to participate, I’d love to see them answer the questions:

Sass & Balderdash  I find Katie to be a laugh-out-loud type of funny.  Her posts are super long compared with most bloggers, BUT they’re worth the entire read.  I can’t say that about a lot of blogs.  Go check her out for your daily snark and giggle fest.

A Blumes With a View Andrew Blumetti posts about the most random and ridiculous stuff ever.  He makes obscure pop culture references that are pretty damn impressive too.  Go visit his site and be prepared to LOL and Haha in large quantities.

Sebastian Gregory:  On the Written Path  You ever come across a blogger whose fiction is so freaking good, you just know that they’ll be scooped up by a publisher at some point?  Yeah, that’s Sebas.  He’s a real life friend who I always knew wrote, but never realized what a talent he is.  Go read and be wowed.

 

Featuring this tune today because in the lyrics it says, “right on, right on”.  When I set out to thinking of a “writing” song, this is what popped into my head:

 

Stay positive & love your life!

-Melissa

 

Went on a hike this Saturday at Sawnee Mountain.  Lovely!

IMG_0208[1] IMG_0207[1]

 

4 thoughts on “Hideaway

  1. Even without a regular process, yours is better than mine.
    I smack my head against the keyboard, then see if any recognizable words came out.

    Digging the tune!

  2. Your irregularity shows your honesty. It’s why I love reading you.

    Thanks for doing so

Okay, your turn to talk!

