100 Word Song: Blake, Incarcerated

Everything in the place has the same smell. I can never quite put my finger on what it is. Musty and sad, like how you’d imagine broken dreams may smell. To me, it smells like home. I always knew I’d end up here.

Father was forever down on his luck and looking for his next scheme. Mom, well she was the Bonnie to his Clyde, his biggest fan and willing sidekick. And that left me as heir apparent, ready to pick up the banner and march on when they were sidelined. I’m their son, from my head to my toes.

 

 

 

My 100 words for Lance’s 100 Word Song Challenge based on Alabama 3’s “Woke Up This Morning”.  Why not give it go yourself?  Up for the challege of telling a story in 100 words?  Go visit him here.

 

Stay positive & love your life!

-Melissa

 

Today:

Listening to: 

Eating:  couscous and aparagus

Random thought:  I need to admit to my caffeine addiction.  That’s the first step, right?

2 thoughts on “100 Word Song: Blake, Incarcerated

  1. This rules: “Musty and sad, like how you’d imagine broken dreams may smell. To me, it smells like home.”

    tight, mean, direct, and impactful. Great interpretation.

  2. I liked the line about the smell of broken dreams, too. That was a wonderful description. Vivid, but unique to every one who reads it.

Okay, your turn to talk!

