Trifecta- Last Train Out

As you have likely noticed, I’ve been a bit remiss in my posting frequency as of late.  But life gets busy, writers find themselves oddly silent, and the blank page is simply forced to wait.

Ironic really that I felt energized to write today and headed over to one of my favorite prompts and online communities, the Trifecta Writing Challenge, only to learn that I’d caught it on the very last week.

For the final challenge here at Trifecta, we considered some flash and dazzle, a wild prompt to send us off with a bang. What we realized was the most achingly beautiful, haunting and dazzling words we’ve read from our brilliant community have been the ones you chose when you were given the freedom to write with abandon. So we’re lovingly, and eagerly, placing the choice in your hands. There’s no topic, no word, just a free write. Go anywhere your mind wants to travel. Take us there too. Just make it count, leave your blood all over this page. Thirty-three words exactly. Of course. We couldn’t end it any other way.

Thank goodness I didn’t miss the last prompt.  This community has been so helpful and encouraging.  They really gave me a push to give fiction a go.  It’s been a true pleasure getting to know this group of talented writers.  I’m sure I will continue to cross paths with many of you as we continue our online writing adventures.

This week I leave you with a piece I call “Last Train Out”.  Enjoy.

Hands, papery.

Face, weathered.

Years leaving lines etched like rivers in a vast canyon.

Mind, hazy.

Random memories played like a matinee.

Soul, weary.

Someone had to be the last to leave.

Goodbye.

 

Adieu Trifectans!

-Melissa

 

Today:

Listening to:  Neil Finn – Strangest Friends

Eating:  Gnocchi

Random thought:  Is it a novel idea to anyone that while in the movie theater you should refrain from speaking and being on your brightly lit phone?  Yeah, I didn’t think so either.  But judging from the behavior exhibited by the couple behind us yesterday, not everyone got the memo.

 

39 thoughts on “Trifecta- Last Train Out

  1. This was so haunting and lonely. Beautiful. I’m glad I ‘met’ you through Trifecta.

  2. such beautiful words for your goodbye. It was perfect Melissa.

  3. You’ve perfectly captured the feeling of the end of the party.
    Nicely done!

  4. I like the picture but had you not included it I would have felt the exhausted and sad through your words.

    well done

  5. What a tender farewell. Love this!

  6. You did a great job capturing that feeling of everyone slowly drifting away. I was also absent from my writing for the last few months, and came back to find that Trifecta was ending – wish now that I hadn’t missed all those weeks!

  7. Gorgeous, Quickstepp! I loved “Someone had to be the last to leave.” Such a wistfulness there. Thanks so much for sharing – I’m so glad to have stumbled across you at Trifecta!

  8. Adieu, Melissa… the photo says it all.

  9. I hope that even though we aren’t writing through Trifecta, that we will continue to stalk each other.

  10. This packed such a powerful emotional punch!

  11. Love this. The structure and descriptions are awesome and you leave your reader feeling nostalgic. Thanks for coming back for the last week!

  12. I am SO glad that you didn’t miss the last week Melissa – this was crazy good. Beautiful, even.

  13. I can feel the sad… and the unwillingness to leave. Beautiful, Mel!
    I’m pleased to have met you, and am confident in finding you again : )

  14. I’d been absent as well. This is how I’ve felt as well. Don’t forget to turn the lights out…

  15. What an awesome tribute-so evocative and beautiful!Love it!Happy to have met you on Trifecta ,Melissa and really enjoyed reading the story you were writing about the aliens -hope to read it as a novel someday:-)All the best!

  16. Oh I love this. This line especially speaks to me: Random memories played like a matinee. You wrote a beautiful farewell.

  17. Your muse was on top of it! Not only did it pick up psychically that this was the last challenge, it also came through with a stellar piece! And what a good poem, wow. If that doesn’t make up for blank pages I don’t know what does. HA!

  18. This had a great rhythm to it. Awesome work. 🙂

Okay, your turn to talk!

