Five for Friday: 5 Observations From My First Week Post Engagement

This past week has been a whirlwind of lessons.  You see, I’m really not “that girl”, you know the one who has her entire wedding planned out.  The one who has an entire scrapbook of fabrics and photos and ribbons that she’s been carrying around her entire life.  The one who I would probably have a very hard time being friends with (see here).  So this whole “what do I want in a wedding” thing has completely caught me offguard.  I have a feeling there are many, many lessons to be learned over the next several months, but here are 5 observations made in the last 5 days alone.

5:  I hate the word fiance’. 

Ugh, I just don’t like the sound of it.  I don’t like the way people say it.  I don’t like its similarity to the word finance.  Finance, as in what people do to pay for absurdly expensive weddings.  It just stinks of pretentiousness and I reserve my pretentiousness to music snobbery.

4:  Wedding cakes are hideous.

What the hell is up with all the ribbons and flowers exploding out everywhere?  Why are they massive?  I must have scrolled through at least 300 cakes on Pinterest and found three that I could potentially work with to craft a normal dessert item with which to celebrate my nuptials.  Speaking of Pinterest…..

wed6

What in the name of all things holy is this?!

3:  Pinterest!

Oh Pinterst you may just be the greatest thing ever invented.  How do wedding planners still have jobs?

2:  People spend wayyyyyy too much on weddings.

Obviously this is just my opinion, so if blowing $25K+ for a few hours of fun is what floats your boat, more power to ya.  I just can’t fathom it.  $25K would pay for a lot of things.  Let’s see, off the top of my head:  my student loans, a new car, a nice chunk of my mortgage, a killer vacation or 12, a nice infusion into my retirement fund…..

wedding-tree-decorations

I can’t….

1:  I kinda am one of “those girls”.

Maybe it’s not on some insane bridezilla level, but I have to be honest, I’m loving everything about this!  I love picking colors and thinking about flowers.  I love imagining my friends and family gathered in celebration.  And more than anything, I love that I get to spend the rest of my life with my very best friend.  Let me stop typing before I completely girl out and start crying.  Someone pass me a tissue please.

Stay positive and love your life!

-Melissa

Today:

Listening to:  311 – Still Dreaming

7 thoughts on “Five for Friday: 5 Observations From My First Week Post Engagement

  1. Whatever kind of wedding you and him choose, I hope it’s one that you make fun for yourselves, and not one based on what you think peoples expectations are.
    My wife (who I referred to before, during and after our engagement as “my girl” (though now I use “my wife” interchangeably)) and I went out of our way to set up a low key wedding that amused the hell out of us, reflected our personalities, and ended up being more fun (and less responsibility) than many weddings we’ve been to.

    And again, CONGRATULATIONS!!!

  2. Congrats on your engagement and impending wedding. And I agree that you can have an awesome wedding for less than the down payment on a house! 🙂 One piece of advice I will offer though, is don’t scrimp on your photographer. Those memories need to be captured by somebody who can save them, because your day will be over in a flash and you will want to savor those photos.

    Hubs and I had a simple but fun outdoor Celtic-themed wedding…the groomsmen wore kilts and my mom made my gown and the girls’ gowns. And my cake, which was delish. She also did my flowers, and catered my buffet munchies in our barn reception. I think everyone had fun and we did it all for less than $2500. But about that photographer…

    Spend the dough on a good photographer. And have a BLAST!!

  3. Congrats on the engagement! I actually liked the challenge of doing our wedding on a budget (although I’m sure prices have skyrocketed since 1997!) Have fun and enjoy it all 🙂

  4. Congrats! Hope you have a huge time planning your wedding.

Okay, your turn to talk!

