Trifecta- The Guest Part XXV

This week’s Trifecta prompt queued up another installment of our crazy partnership and their ever-unfolding saga of strange.  Trifecta asked us to use:

FUNK (noun)
1 a :  a state of paralyzing fear
b :  a depressed state of mind
2 :  one that funks :  COWARD
3 :  SLUMP  <an economic funk>  <the team went into a funk>

Need to get caught up on the story?  Check out all previous installments here.

And now this week’s 330 words.  Enjoy!

Me, a Dad! I just couldn’t get over the surprise of it all. I should have seen the signs all along. And it definitely explained all the odd behavior and the lingering funk she’d been in for the past few months.

As I made my way to our bedroom, any apprehension I felt melted away. This was great news!

“Baby, hey wake up. We need to talk.” I said gently shaking her awake. I guess pregnant women sleep a lot, because here she was napping at 3 in the afternoon.

She opened her eyes staring blankly at me.

“Come on, sit up. Let’s chat.”

“About what?” she managed to get out between yawns.

“About us. About the baby,” I said grinning like a fool.

“Baby?” she questioned.

“Yeah, look you don’t have to keep it a secret anymore. I know. The increased appetite, the mood swings, the afternoon naps,” I said nodding toward the bed. “It all adds up. I know. So out with it. Why didn’t you tell me?”

“Yes, oh, that,” she said slowly sitting up. “Well, I guess the gig is up. Yep, I’m knocked up. Preggars. I’ve got a proverbial bun in my oven,” she said laughing nervously.

“And you didn’t want to let me in on the news? I mean, shouldn’t I know, as the father?”

“Yes, I suppose you should. Listen, I just didn’t know how to tell you. Everything feels so weird right now. I’ve got this alien life inside of me. I feel a bit out of control. Sometimes it’s like I’m not manning the helm anymore. I’m just not…myself,” she said giving me her now standard sideways head tilt.

“Do you want to know what I think?”

“Huh?” she said waiting.

“I think it’s phenomenal! I think it’s great!” I said embracing her in a hug that sent us both sprawling on the bed.

“Oh shit, sorry. I need to learn to be a bit more careful with you I suppose!”

Stay positive & love your life!

-Melissa

Today:

Listening to:  Third Eye Blind – Deep Inside Of You

Eating:  Tofu stir fry

18 thoughts on “Trifecta- The Guest Part XXV

  1. the dialogue was good, just as you’d expect it to be.
    and while I never had a pregnancy I could keep a secret, I liked the way this played out, her hesitation, his excitement, the rush to keep her “safe”.

    terribly romantic and “real”.

  2. Ah.. The dialogue worked great… and I guess that mentioning it to early would have been a disaster…

  3. This alien – Hmmmm…Is there more to the story here?

  4. This was very cute. I loved the simple realness to their talk. Great job.

  5. Fun, interesting natural dialogue. This is your specialty, mel. well done

  6. Thanks! I seem to be writing a ton of dialogue lately.

  7. “Alien life…” foreshadowing? These two have such an interesting dynamic, never sure where they are headed.

    • Sometimes I don’t know where they’re headed either. I have the ending mapped out, but have wavered a bit on how to get there. Hopefully it’s not coming off too disjointed for those of you following along!

  8. Haha,,, the alien life inside of her. She’s got that right! The pregnancy is sure to be out of this world. Sorry… got caught up with the alien theme.

  9. Alien life is perfect for this scene!

  10. I love her hesitation and reaction to his excitement. It sets it up nicely because I’ve got a feeling this is going to get a whole lot more funky… Thanks for linking up!

  11. Pingback: My World: My Stories – Utopian Funk (Trifecta Challenge) | Dibbler Dabbler

Okay, your turn to talk!

