Trifecta- Who’s Laughing Now?

Friday is Valentine’s Day.  One would think I’m the type of girl who would find the whole thing a bit contrived and utterly ridiculous.  But alas, even I am a sucker for the sickenly sweet trappings of this commercially concocted “holiday”.  It may have something to do with the wonderfully healthy and fulfilling relationship I find myself in.  Yeah, it’s definitely that.

I just knew that Trifecta was going to give me a nice lovey, dovey prompt in honor of this week and while I enjoy the emotion, it’s not my favorite of writing topics.  So, it was a cool surprise to find the exact opposite!

This week we’re asking for exactly 33 of your own words about love gone wrong. But we’re asking that you not use any of the following words:

love
sad
tears
wept
heart
pain

Nice!  To find my inner inspiration for this piece, I had to do a bit of emotional escavation and undercover some not oft thought of and long gone relationship demons.  Thankfully with age comes wisdom (well at least in this area….for me).  Dedicated to everyone’s dating anti-christ,  I call this piece “Who’s Laughing Now?”  Enjoy!
I think,

Amazing how one four letter feeling,

becomes the other in an eye’s blink.

Funny that.

Me, naïve.

You, punishing.

Me, defeated, seemingly.

And yet.

You, alone, in the end.

Funny that.

jail

Stay positive & love your life!

-Melissa

Today:

Listening to:Phoenix – Honeymoon

Eating:  Left over spanakopita and pasta salad.

Random thought:  The forecast is threatening icy road conditions here again this week.  Let’s hope it turns out better than last time.  I’m trusting my own judgement since currently the news it attempting to sensationalize the entire thing to feed off of our the great ATL snow debacle.

26 thoughts on “Trifecta- Who’s Laughing Now?

  1. Nicely done!
    Sadly, not so funny for the other person…
    (Unless they deserved it.)
    (hehehe)

  2. These two lines – Really great:

    Amazing how one four letter feeling,

    becomes the other in an eye’s blink.

  3. Ha.. the punishment for the condemning funny indeed.

  4. I hear ya on this one, Mel. Nicely done.

  5. Oh burn! Awesome work!

  6. Digging up the relationship demons worked well!

  7. I gotta be honest and tell you Melissa, I’m still waiting for this sort of payoff. Right now, she’s still in the “win” column…

    • There never really is a payoff. You never get back your wasted time, emotions, and effort. But eventually you just move beyond. I’m not even laughing now, I just don’t even consider it at all….unless of course Trifecta prompts me!

  8. Fortunately, I’ve never experienced that sudden change in four-letter feelings.

  9. Depending on what happens, that first word can morph into many, both good and horrible. This was very clever!

  10. A great piece of writing, and I agree with you on the prompt. I was really happy to see something leaning away from lovey dovey romance since it always screws up my writing. Romance is difficult to write without being contrite.

  11. Nice turning of the tables in 33 words. Wow.

  12. “Amazing how one four letter feeling,
    becomes the other in an eye’s blink.”

    Great line and so true! I like how this worked out for her, because he sounds like yet another four letter word. 🙂

  13. Funny indeed – great insight, and great piece.

Okay, your turn to talk!

