The Guest (Part XXIV)

This week I’m moving my The Guest story along once again.  This story started out as an entry for Trifecta in October and was only supposed to span that month.  Well, here we are in February still pushing toward the conclusion (which has changed in my head several times!).  Check out my last installment here.  Or get caught up on the entire story here.

The first 100 of the 321 words are also for my buddy Lance’s 100 Word Song Challenge.  If you’re not familiar, go check it out.  He writes some cool stuff (including two books….I’m just a smidge jealous)  and this week he was awesome enough to let me select the song:  Blind Melon’s “Tones of Home”.

The entire 321 are for Trifecta’s challenge this week using the third definition of the word manipulate.  Enjoy!

 

“Hmmm, what do I think? Well, for one, I don’t like the way you’re living. I mean everyday recently has been like a rollercoaster.” She said, her voice pitched perfectly in tones of my childhood home.

I silently rolled my eyes.. Here is comes; cue the judgmental sister soapboxing. How could she possibly understand? Cause, the problem, it’s here. It’s what she can’t see.

“But,” she continued. “I think I know what’s going with her.”

I leaned in waiting for her to reveal the nugget of understanding I so desperately needed.

“She’s obviously pregnant. God, you guys are so unobservant.”

—–

“Yo, hey bro, still on the phone?” she asked.

I snapped out of shock and replied, “Yeah, I’m here.”

“Well, have you found the answer you’re looking for?”

“I’m 100% sure that isn’t the answer I was expecting. I thought she’d gone looney. You know she’s been freaking out ever since the whole aquarium pod thing and then there was Cubbie. I just thought she’d completely lost it. This? A baby? Why hasn’t she said anything?” I asked.

“Shit, look at your reaction! You aren’t exactly jumping for joy ya know.”

“No, it’s cool. The idea of being a father actually feels pretty good. It’s just,” I said pausing. “Why hasn’t she told me? I’m Mr. Supportive! It’s like she simply used all of these weird happenings to manipulate the truth. Maybe she is looney!”

“Honey, all pregnant women are looney! Look, you guys haven’t exactly had the easiest last couple of months. Her body is freaking out on her and then there’s the hormones. The hormones, you don’t know anything about that!” she said.

“Me a Dad? Yeah, okay. Me a Dad! You know, it’s been an eventful and enlightening call Sis. Thanks, but I think I need to go find the future mother of my child. As per usual, she has some explaining to do.” I said hanging up.

 

Stay positive & love your life!

-Melissa

 

Today:

Listening to:  Yeah Yeah Yeahs – Pin

Eating:  broccoli and carrots with Gardein Chk’in.

Random fact:  There are few things I hate more in life than a person camping out in the left lane of the highway.  Asshole, are you oblivious to all of the cars passing you on the right?  Yep, you are.

12 thoughts on “The Guest (Part XXIV)

  1. the casualness of the dialogue with this story makes you absorb the characters’ emotions.

    I love what you did with it. Your writing is tighter than ever.

  2. Whoa. Glad I’m not on the other end of that conversation! Way to keep the story rolling, Mel. ‘The hormones’, Vincent Price voice, ‘the hormones!’

  3. Pregnant?! Explains a lot, but definitely a surprise.

  4. She could be pregnant… but it’s possible she could just be looney 🙂

  5. Ha!ha!Good one that but am sure it is not what his sis is thinking-she may be pregnant-yes-but I doubt if the baby to be is human or if she is-brr!This is getting more and more intriguing Melissa,loving it 🙂

  6. Oh, snap. What the hell is growing inside of her?! I’m going to be so bummed when this story concludes. I’m enjoying this rollercoaster ride.

Okay, your turn to talk!

