Twisted Mixtape Tuesday: Happy, Happy, Joy, Joy

Weather got you down?  Cold making you act like a baby?  Yeah, me too.  I prefer blue skies, sunshine, and the smell of fresh-cut grass.  Right now, however, I’m eating lunch in my office located in downtown Atlanta watching the snow fall outside.  From 32 stories up, safe in the confines of my office, it looks beautiful.  But I’m still dreaming of spring and summer.

This week, Jen over at My Skewed View asked for a playlist to cheer up a friend.  Mine seems to have some semi-unintentional weather related theme going on.  It can’t be helped.  Come on sunshine!  Here you are my interweb buddies,  5 songs (and a bonus) guaranteed to cheer you up even in the bitterest of cold!

Day by Day- The Dirty Heads

Love these lyrics:

Bright lights on
Coming off the hinge
Rambling on like a Led Zeppelin
I got my sword and my pen like mad mordagin
Outta the abyss starting to ascend
Top of the class peak of the summit
Throw your worries of a cliff watch them as they plummet

Shine on You- Matisyahu

Love these lyrics:

Oh my soul has been so low
Make them clouds fade to blue
So my love can shine on through
Shine on you

 

Mr. Blue Sky- ELO

Love these lyrics:

Runnin’ down the avenue,(Pant, Pant, Pant)
See how the sun shines brightly
In the city on the streets
Where once was pity,
Mr. Blue Sky is living here today.

 

Drivin’ on 9- The Breeders

This song isn’t really conventionally happy, but it makes me smile!  Maybe it makes me think of long drives with the stereo cranked and the windows down.

Love these lyrics:

Drivin’ on 9
I sure miss you
Pass a motel
Looking at the pines

Sun Hands- Local Natives

 

Love these lyrics:

The most beautiful colors chase the sun
They wrap her trail in a taunting gesture
That seems to sing out loud,
“this is what you’re missing”

 

Bonus:

Outside-311

A nice little, happy b-side-

 

IMG_0463[1]

Four instant happy makers for me:  summertime, best friend, music festival, King of Pops!

 

Stay positive & love your life!

-Melissa

 

Today:

Listening to:  Arctic Monkeys – Pretty Visitors

Eating:  Sesame Ch’kin, bok choy, veggies and rice.

Drinking:  H2O, but a Monster will be had soon.

Random fact:  Skiing is not on my list of “fun” vacation ideas.

 

15 thoughts on “Twisted Mixtape Tuesday: Happy, Happy, Joy, Joy

  1. Very eclectic set! I’ll work my way through it at my desk today.

  2. I wouldn’t mind some sun to come melt this snow away. Perfect mix for a snowy day!

  3. Ha! Your title had me thinking about Ren &Stimpy, so I was sort of hoping to find them here. That got me thinking about The Family Guy’s Peanut Butter Jelly Time song and now I have an earworm. Listening to your mix rid me of that! Great songs!

  4. I love Mr Blue Sky. I never knew the name of the song so thanks for that. The video is super cute too. Love all these “new to me” songs as well.

  5. Wait! I was waiting for Ren & Stimpy?? Where’s my Ren & Stimpy?? We just had a whole facebook convo that started with South Park and ended with R&S singing Happy Happy Joy Joy.
    Anywhoo… Awesomeness of course. Dirty Heads are always happy and oldschooling the ELO love it!

Okay, your turn to talk!

