Twisted Mix Tape Tuesday: We Can Dance If We Want To

Dance music.  Initially this prompt made me think of clubbing.  Clubbing makes me think of douche bag dudes (ala Jersey Shore) and drunk chicks dressed like hookers (ala….well, Jersey Shore).  I’ve never been a clubber.  While I was a teen in the 90s, I missed the whole rave moment (thank God) and I’ve always preferred going to a show or hanging at a bar  instead of a dance club.  Really the only type of dance club I’ve ever remotely enjoyed is a gay one, but that’s a story for another time.  Until that time, here’s a picture of me and my best friend Bee tearing it up on stage at Jungle (Atlanta).  Yes, we have choreographed moves.  Yes, there was alcohol involved.

188742_10150098297096157_623832_n

Okay, on to Jen over at My Skewed View’s prompt for the week: Dance music.  Actually, this prompt really wasn’t as challenging as I first thought.  I came up with this list in no time flat.  I’m giving you 3 from the 80s, 2 from the 90s, and 2 from today.

 

80s PICKS

THE decade for dance in my humble opinion.  Nearly every song is danceable.  New Wave is actually dance music for snobs.  Or Brits.  Or snobby Brits.

When Smokey Sings- ABC

One of my favorite 80s groups.  This song just oozes 80s from the first note.  Try not to dance.

Head to Toe- Lisa Lisa & the Cult Jam

Give me a synthesizer beat and some shoulder pads and see if I can sit still.

 

Push It- Salt n Pepa

Still my jam.  Timeless classic.

90s PICKS

The 90s were FULL of dance music.   After all, there had to be an opposite to the grunge/alt rock movement.  Most of it is bad and falls under the guilty pleasures category-

Better Off Alone- Alice Deejay

And some of it…..seriously, WTF is this?

Blue (Da Ba Dee)- Eiffel 65

Yes, I owned this album.  I thought I’d bleached it from my memory, but it cropped back up today.  Just….wow.  It should have been on my list two weeks ago:  Embarrassing Albums I Owned.   Take it easy on me, I’m baring some of life’s biggest lapses of judgement through this list.

Today’s PICKS

Oddly enough, when you listen to a lot of the indie music today, it is actually dance music!  While rock owns my heart, I have plenty of room for this too.  It’s an 80s synth rehash with a slight rock vibe.

Punching in a Dream- The Naked & Famous

Midnight City- M83

This song got played to death, but for some reason I just never tired of it.

 

Stay positive & love your life!

-Melissa

 

Today:

Listening to:  Kate Tucker & the Sons of Sweden – Blue Hotel

Eating:  Leftover taco.

Random thought:  You know you’re a book nerd when you’re super excited to start your next book while you’re still reading your current book.

 

23 thoughts on “Twisted Mix Tape Tuesday: We Can Dance If We Want To

  1. I love ABC and “When Smokey Sings” is a song where if it comes on and someone tries to turn the channel I slap their hand. 😉

    I forgot about “Better off Alone” I LOVE that song. In fact all of your choices were excellent and made me nostalgic for a night out.

    (just when I think we are so different you show me, “not so much” and I smile.)

    **I’m a book nerd too!**

  2. This was great! I like how you broke it up by decade.

  3. Push It still works, doesn’t it?

  4. I love love LOVE When Smokey Sings! I remember being in kindergarten & getting all excited telling my parents “he’s talking about Smokey Robinson” great list. Haven’t heard the Naked & Famous one but I feel like I must’ve heard some of their songs because they sound familiar.

  5. Kindred spirits, though my salt & pepa was lets talk about sex mixed with a couple other songs. I still own this album. I love how you broke it down by decade, as well.

  6. I liked the decade thing too and great songs from each one. I know I’ve heard the last one in some commercial or TV ad and now its driving me nuts trying to remember which one!

  7. Oh my gosh! This topic has been so nostalgic for me, not just because of my own mix but a lot of other people’s, like yours!!! ABC! I haven’t thought of them in forever!!! But that voice is so unforgettable!
    And then you made my cruise ship mix, and then you introduced me to some music I have never heard!
    Awesome mix, thank you SO much!

  8. I saw an opening band recently that was unintentionally hilarious.
    In 8 songs, they channeled Thompson Twins, Pet Shop Boys, Sheila E, old Duran Duran and others.

    And they even had a keytar.

  9. Ok – I adore that you posted Lisa Lisa & the Cult Jam 🙂 And I felt a bit lame that I had to listen to When Smokey Sings so I could land on “I think I know that…..” until the refrain. Then I was good.

    Loved Salt N Pepa too. Enjoyed this!

  10. These are some Old School jams, I love it.

Okay, your turn to talk!

