Trifecta: Finally

This week Trifecta gave us these marching orders:

This week we are asking you to count syllables. And words. It’s a lot of math for those of us who might be more accustomed to dealing with words, but we’re confident you can pull it off.

We are asking for a 33-word response to the following snippet:

The first time I saw. . .

Here’s the catch: all of your 33 words must be one syllable each. We’re going low-brow on you this week. Or not. Can you class it up under these restrictions? Give us your best.

To clarify, we are giving you 5 words. We want another 33 from you, for a grand total of 38.

Here are my 38:

 
The first time I saw the sun my eyes stung.

Ten years in a hole.

Ten years in the dark.

My pale skin drank in the heat.

My soul sang, roused.

My heart beat.

More than fine, whole.

 

sunshine-love

Stay positive & love your life!

-Melissa

Today:

Listening to:  Tori Amos – A Sorta Fairytale

Eating:  Seasnax-  Seriously yummy.  I can’t get enough.

Random thought:  The best feeling in the world may be when your reality is better than your dreams.

35 thoughts on “Trifecta: Finally

  1. Now, you can’t live without that light.

  2. I like how you formatted this and used similar words for emphasis. The last 3 words are awesome. well done melissa

  3. Very nicely written

  4. This packs a punch. It’s got rhythm, it’s got soul. I like it a lot. Thanks for linking up, Melissa!

  5. I could feel it as I read it – absorbed your light, even.

  6. Made me think of Kaspar Hauser…

  7. Hopeful piece – Really lovely lines.

  8. It felt sad and dungeony! Until the light is seen. I like the look and feel of the formatting a lot as well as the word repetition.

  9. Ten years in a hole – now that’s intriguing!

  10. The light, as freedom! I feel your sense of jubilation and release! I, too, liked the structure of this piece. The repeating words and sentence structure lend a happy rhythm to what was, initially, a sombre piece. Well done, Melissa. 🙂

  11. Woah. I can only imagine the story that could come out from this snippet. Really intriguing and awesomely written.

  12. Been there… not going back

  13. warm words of hope. thanks for sharing, i enjoyed it. ☺

  14. I, too, like the words playing off of each other: hole/whole heat/heartbeat. Captures the sense of release/possibility. Nicely done, Mel.

  15. Great! Stay positive – what other message could we need? 🙂

  16. Gorgeous work, Mel!

Okay, your turn to talk!

