Trifecta: Whatever (The Guest Part XIX)

This week for Trifecta our challenge is to write 33-333 words using the prompt:

WHATEVER
1. (pronoun) a: anything or everything that
b: no matter what : regardless of what
Used in questions that express surprise or confusion
2. (adjective) a: all the
b: any ; any … that
Used to refer to something that is not known
3. (adverb) Used to show that something is not important

For my piece, we return to Matt and his very odd girlfriend for the continuation of The Guest.  Last time:

I peered around the corner of the house and there she sat, legs akimbo on the cold ground. The colander lay forgotten at her feet. She was rocking rhythmically and holding something in her lap. I could hear her sobbing; it was getting louder by the second. It was as if some slow turning pain was building inside her. I went to call out, but hesitated and started backing away toward the house.

My clumsy feet defied me; I heard a twig snap and her head jerked around, our eyes meeting. There was something dark there shining through her tears.

And here is this week’s Trifecta piece, The Guest Part XIX

 
“Spying on me?” she questioned, face blank.

“Nnnoo,” I stammered.

She continued to stare me dead in the eyes.

“Well, you might as well come look,” she said, her face suddenly softening. “He’s been gone for a while. I didn’t want to ruin your holidays.”

She lifted the lifeless body of Cubbie out toward me.

“Shit,” I said. What the hell was going on? Our cat had died and she hadn’t even told me?

Uneasily I reached for him; my fingers closed around his matted, dirt coated fur.

“Did you bury him?” I asked, fighting my instinct to simultaneously be sick, retreat, or weep for the loss of my little buddy.

“I did, but I couldn’t say goodbye. So I come out here to visit him. He was such a good cat; so malleable and eager to please,” she said.

I watched a single tear trickle down her cheek and hit the dirt. She was definitely upset, but Jesus, first she’s in a near coma for weeks and now she’s digging up our pet to visit each day. And malleable? Who describes a pet as malleable?

“How’d he die?” I asked realizing we hadn’t covered that very important fact.

She shrugged.

“Beats me. I found him one morning at the foot of our bed. It looks like something attacked him,” she explained.

“He lived inside. What could have possibly attacked him?” I said, my suspicions suddenly aroused.

“How the hell should I know? Look, let’s just make him a grave. I’ll say my final good-bye and we’ll go inside and cook dinner. Okay?” she fired back.

“Um, yeah, so much of this is not okay. You’ve been off the reservation for weeks only to come back as Susie Homemaker for Thanksgiving and now you’re telling me our cat’s been dead for…for.. well, for way too long not to tell me!” I yelled.

Whatever,” she said, shrugging and walking back toward the house.

322 words

dirt1

Stay positive & love your life!

-Melissa

Today:

Listening to:  Palma Violets – Step Up for the Cool Cats

Eating  Leftover veggie chili

Random thought:  It is very apparent that I would likely shrivel up and die should I have to live up north.  I can’t handle this weather.  Hot makes me happy.

20 thoughts on “Trifecta: Whatever (The Guest Part XIX)

  1. She was fond of the pet.

  2. LOVE the nuance and unspoken dialogue here. This story is so strong. MORE please.

    also, happy new year

  3. This situation is beyond creepy. He needs to run before he’s the next malleable pet buried in the backyard!

  4. Pingback: Quick Stepp | 100 Word Song: Starting Over (The Guest Part XX)

  5. That was such a wonderfully written suspense-driven story ! I really was sad at the death of cat when I smell some creepiness all around.

  6. She is seriously creepy, but this story is addictive.

  7. If you were going for unsettling then, you achieved your goal. Lots of unanswered questions here. Great tale so far. Carry on! 🙂

  8. Creepy! Definitely want to learn more.

  9. I love this. She is not only creepy but so nonchalant about it. And I love the part where he questions her use of the word malleable. Because really, who *does* describe a pet as malleable?

  10. She seems off, like there is treachery under the surface.

Okay, your turn to talk!

