Five for Friday: 5 Christmas Jams I Adore

Ok, time to get this obligatory post out of the way.  I go back and forth on holiday music.  I love it, don’t get me wrong, but I can’t listen to it in large doses and honestly, a lot of it kinda sucks.  Now, before you think I’m going all bah humbug on ya, I am here writing a post about 5 Christmas tunes that I find not only palatable, I actually really dig them.  From a kid who detested all Christmas music and would beg my mom to “turn it off for the love of all things holy” <—–I get the irony here, I think I’ve come a long way.

So get ready to rock your body all the way around the Christmas tree and jingle your bell till your heart’s content.  Even Scrooge would sway to these awesome tunes!

chevy

This picture has nothing to do with this post.

Number 5: Silver Bells- Berle Ives

My mom had exactly two Christmas records (containing the aforementioned hated Christmas music) when I was a kid.  This was one of them.  Of course I love it now, because it reminds me of her dancing through the house singing this to me while I bitched and moaned.

Number 4:  Christmas in Hollis- Run DMC

I keep it old school at Christmas.

Number 3:  Rockin’ Around the Christmas Tree-  Brenda Lee

Home Alone, people.  Home Alone.

Number 2:  Last Christmas- Wham!

1980s, nuff said.  This video is so 80s I just, like, gagged myself with a spoon.  Totally.

Number 1:  Carol of the Bells

Hands down the best holiday song ever.  Ever.  No contest.  I love every version.

I especially love this version:

Honorable Mentions:

Anything by Bing Crosby- If you can look beyond him being a child beater, no one sets the holiday mood like this crooner.

Christmas Wrapping- The Waitresses

What are your faves?  Let me know; maybe I’ll like them too.  Or maybe you’ll mention Mariah Carey and I’ll puke glitter everywhere.

Stay positive & love your life!

-Melissa

Today:

Listening to:  Foo Fighters – Everlong

2 thoughts on “Five for Friday: 5 Christmas Jams I Adore

  1. WHAM is Christmas , don’t you think?
    And my twins LOVE Home Alone, I mean just love every single thing about it.

    I think I see that Christmas twinkle in your eyes…Wishing you a really MERRY CHRISTMAS.

Okay, your turn to talk!

