In Obvious News: My Thoughts on Duck Dynasty

So if you’ve somehow avoided Facebook and Twitter today…and likely the “real” news outlets as well unfortunately, you may be unaware that the entire planet is up in arms about the comment one of the Duck Dynasty necks made.

dd

It was the one with the beard I think.

My thoughts on the subject are as follows:

I really don’t care what the dude says or thinks.

Come on people, he’s not some world leader.  He’s not making policy.  He’s some backwoods hillbilly who is on some “reality” show about a family of rich rednecks who made their fortune off of a duck call whistle.  Do we really care what his world views are?

An overwhelming lack of surprise.

You mean to tell me that he’s not a proud supporter of equal rights?  Get out!  I was sure he was going to be the grand marshal of next year’s pride parade.

Don’t make him apologize.

He meant what he said.  Saying I’m sorry doesn’t change a thing.

The world is filled with all sorts of people and they all have their own shows now.

I get what some of my gay friends are saying (surprisingly I haven’t seen any friends upset over his comment about blacks); it stinks.  And it hurts, no matter how many times you hear it, no matter if they tie it in a little pretty bow of belief, and no matter who says it.  There are people out there who believe/think this way and they have the platform of reality TV on which to share their views.  Is it influencing others to think like him?  Who knows.  Is it right?  It doesn’t matter.  People watch, and so it will continue.

It all comes down to business at the end of the day.

Remember when Paula Dean said the N word?  Yeah, this is kind of the same thing.  You’ll have people on both sides.   And in the end, A&E will have to decide which side equals the most money.  If there are enough people who are cool with his views and love the show, they’ll win.  That’s probably what will happen based on my completely unscientific survey of my news feed.  People love that shit.  I’ve seen beard-o-grams on everything from dogs to babies.  Life will go on. Honey Booboo will still be my garbage TV of choice.

You have a vote folks.  That is your voice.  And in numbers, it’s loud.  No, I’m not talking about some stupid change.org petition.  I’m not talking about the election day ballot box either (though you SHOULD be voting there too).  I’m talking about your $$$.  It’s just like the saying goes, “Money talks and bullshit walks.”  Decide who gets your hard earned cash.  Support the companies you’re cool with and shun those who you think suck.

At the end of it all, I suppose my feelings on the matter are somewhat ambivalent.   I don’t agree with his way of thinking, but I support his right to say whatever he pleases.  I will say that I think it sucks that we pay this much attention to what boils down to garbage news, but no one wants to discuss actual, important current events.  Ah shit, who am I to judge, I just wrote over 500 words on this nonsense.

Stay positive & love your life!

-Melissa

Today:

Listening to:  The White Stripes – Fell In Love With A Girl

Eating:  Willie’s

Random thought:  I’ve never been so excited for a week off of work in my life!  Less than two days till family visiting time with my favorite person in the world and our canine companion.

4 thoughts on “In Obvious News: My Thoughts on Duck Dynasty

  1. You missed the offensive to women bit. He says he is attracted to “vaginas”, reducing us to a particular organ. I dare to hope some men are attracted to women.

  2. what he said about black people was much mroe offensive. Even Dan Savage said so. The NAACP is all over him and A&E, too.

    I agree with every word, but the biggest thing is, being a lefty Christian, I’m tired of people who say they share my Faith misintepreting the Bible to fit their bigotry.

    The new Testament was written in Aramaic. The King James crowd changed the word for immoral to homosexual. Every relgious scholar knows this. Phil Robertson can’t even do the Bible, right. This makes all Christians look stupid.

    I’ve seen the show 1 1/2 times. It’s not for me. And I’m sick of being intellectually assaulted by retail stores when I walk in them and Duck Tales errr Duck Dynasty stuff hits me in the face,

    Maybe this will change that.

    well done, melissa

    Merry Christmas hugs

    • Thanks. I’m surprised that the other comment is so glossed over in all of this too. Everyone is shouting free speech, which I support, but they aren’t getting that he’s essentially being suspended from “work”. I can say whatever I want at the office, but then I also have to suffer the consequences if it doesn’t jive with my employer’s policies.

      Merry Christmas hugs back at ya!

Okay, your turn to talk!

