100 Word Song: Fall At Your Feet (The Guest Part XVIII)

I’ve had such minimal writing time lately (boo!) that it seems this Guest series is all I’ve been able to keep up with!  So I’m especially looking forward to each installment!   Time for another journey into 100 Word Song hosted by Lance.   This week Jen, from My Skewed View, picked the song.  She hosts a kick ass blog hop for music lovers each Tuesday called Twisted Mix Tape.  I’ve been absent with out leave for a few weeks, but will return next week…..promise.  Won’t you join us?

Anyway, Jen picked “Fall At Your Feet” by Crowded House.  I’m virtually high-fiving her for this pick y’all.  I LOVE Crowded House.  This is one of my “mom’s bands” that really stuck with me.  Neil Finn is one of my favorite lyricists of all time.  Solid, solid song.  And it works nicely for the next 100 words in my story about a couple whose lives are being torn apart by a surprise house guest.

Get caught up on the last post here.

I peered around the corner of the house and there she sat, legs akimbo on the cold ground. The colander lay forgotten at her feet. She was rocking rhythmically and holding something in her lap. I could hear her sobbing; it was getting louder by the second. It was as if some slow turning pain was building inside her. I went to call out, but hesitated and started backing away toward the house.

My clumsy feet defied me; I heard a twig snap and her head jerked around, our eyes meeting. There was something dark there shining through her tears.

Stay positive & love your life!

-Melissa

Today:

Listening to:  Empire Of The Sun – DNA – The Aston Shuffle Remix

Eating:  Left over tots and ch’kin.  Arugula and shitake salad.

Drinking:  H20, but a Monster is in my near future after lunch.

Random fact:  Matt and I are becoming damn near unbearably obsessed with our Christmas lights.  Oh well, at least it stopped raining so they work now, mostly.  Also, they’re the best in our neighborhood (or else we’d be out buying more).  And finally, we’re both equally crazy which is either a positive or negative depending on how you look at it.  I, for one, love our “enthusiasm” for the holidays!

7 thoughts on “100 Word Song: Fall At Your Feet (The Guest Part XVIII)

  1. Yay, more 😀
    It’s all building up, I can totally see it now. Awesome!

  2. I don’t know how far back to go… is it the lettuce? Did the lettuce die? I so don’t mean to make light of this, I am fascinated by her instability. I am glad to be back doing this so I can stay on top of things, but since I don’t do Trifecta I feel like I’m missing something each time (this time I went back 🙂 )
    However, whatever it is, it’s awesome.

  3. I need to go back and catch up too, but it’s intriguing!

  4. Uh-oh…hope he can run fast 🙂

Okay, your turn to talk!

