Trifecta: The Guest Part XVII

This week’s Trifecta challenge asked us to use:
MELT (transitive verb)

1
: to reduce from a solid to a liquid state usually by heat
2
: to cause to disappear or disperse
3
: to make tender or gentle : soften

Remember:

• Your response must be between 33 and 333 words.
• You must use the 3rd definition of the given word in your post.
• The word itself needs to be included in your response.
• You may not use a variation of the word; it needs to be exactly as stated above.
• Only one entry per writer.
• If your post doesn’t meet our requirements, please leave your link in the comments section, not in the linkz
• Trifecta is open to everyone.

So this week we once again rejoin Matt as he deals with his bizarre girlfriend who has just snapped out of a nearly month long fugue state.  If you haven’t been following their story, you can start here.   The most recent 100 words came out for the 100 Word Song Challenge last week.  Read them here.

This installment is 331 words:

During dinner she was the picture of perfection. She happily served our guests and reveled in their compliments. I simply watched in awe as she danced from the kitchen to the dining room effortlessly; I’d never seen her like this. While she’d always been a decent hostess, she’d never been one to roll out the red carpet or dote on people. But her she was, my Martha Stewart who hours before had been damn near catatonic.

It was a true sight to see. Even my uncle who was normally a text book Scrooge seemed to melt in her presence. I even think I saw the old geezer smile. Maybe the stress of the whole tank incident had just been too much for her and she’d undergone some sort of reset. It seemed that she’d bounced back better than ever.

*******

A few days later as our guests pulled out, I pulled her in for a big hug.

“Thanks for being so wonderful baby,” I said kissing her on the forehead.

She giggled and said, “Of course. One always has to make sure guests are comfortable in one’s home.”

Her emphasis on the word guest left me feeling a bit off-balance, but my unease quickly passed as I watched her skip into the house. I’d never seen her so happy.

With dinner nearing I watched her grab the colander and ease on her boots.

“I thought we’d have a nice salad for dinner. We need something fresh after all that food!” she said rubbing her tummy.

She walked out the front door to her garden. I rarely went over there as she was very particular about the tending of her plots. I suppose I was lucky we’d been having so much rain, because I’d forgotten about it during her episode. She’d have been quite angry to walk out there and see her lettuce limp and her broccoli withered. I wondered how it had held up. Pulling on my shoes, I followed her outside.

 

small-vegetable-garden-design

 

Stay positive & love your life!

-Melissa

 

Today:

Listening to:  Weezer – O Come All Ye Faithful

Eating:  A salad does sound nice.

Drinking:  H2O

Random thought:  I’ve forgotten what the sun looks like at this point.  It’s been raining here for two week’s straight.  This dreary, cold, wet weather bums me out big time.

24 thoughts on “Trifecta: The Guest Part XVII

  1. I love this, you seamlessly brought both stories together.

  2. I just want to shake him. Don’t go into the garden, Matt! Don’t go…

  3. Going to the garden seems innocent enough, but I believe you just left us on a cliff here. Perhaps he should stay inside…ignorance is bliss 🙂

  4. I tweeted earlier that if we (Atlanta) are going to be seattle I want their music and their pro football team

    Loved this transitional part: Her emphasis on the word guest left me feeling a bit off-balance, but my unease quickly passed as I watched her skip into the house. I’d never seen her so happy.

    With dinner nearing I watched her grab the colander and ease on her boots.

    It really captured the mood of it all. Lots of good craft here, melissa

    • Thanks! Having fun with this tale. I’ll be kinda sad when it reaches its conclusion.

      Over this weather. Traffic around here is always a delight but my commute downtown has been especially heinous as of late.

  5. Ahh, a weird Stepford Wives thing going on here maybe – or Invasion of the Body Snatchers! I can’t help but get an ominous feeling that something not so nice is going to happen out there in the garden…

  6. But but– more! The fun only just started *sigh*
    Okay, I’ll wait around.

    Jokes apart, love Scrooge in all forms, and this one sounds perfect too 😀

  7. Pingback: Quick Stepp | 100 Word Song: Fall At Your Feet (The Guest Part XVIII)

  8. You are the queen of alien girlfriend cliffhangers! Love the Scrooge reference at this time of year! Nice job. Thanks for sharing!

  9. You really brought out the contrast between her almost-normalcy (even if not normal for her) and his growing unease. Very nice!

  10. Without having read the rest of the story I was instantly intrigued by the mystery of her change in behavior. Great job making this a complete story in itself while being part of something larger!

  11. Ooh,loving it more and more as the story progresses Melissa-now that Matt has foolishly(or prudently?) followed his “brand new ” wife(wink,wink),wonder what has been sprouting and spreading its roots in the garden-eeps! :-)Great going!

  12. She is seriously creeping me out with this Stepford Wife act. I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again: Run, Matt, run!

Okay, your turn to talk!

