Trifecta: The Guest Part XV

I’m back to writing after a brief Turkey Day hiatus.  Hope you all enjoyed your time with family and friends.  I know I sure did!

Hopping back into the fray with Trifecta’s weekly challenge.  This week they asked that we give them 33-333 words using:
tush

1. a long pointed tooth; especially : a horse’s canine

2. an interjection used to express disdain or reproach

3. buttocks (slang)

Want to catch up?  Read The Guest Part XIV here.  We join our happy couple with Matt still narrating the story as he prepares for the Thanksgiving holiday. Enjoy!

Foolish perhaps, but I’d decided not to call off the Thanksgiving arrangements we’d previously made. Things really could have gone horribly wrong. After all, my folks were set to arrive on Wednesday and on Tuesday night we were going on a solid week since she’d even come out the bedroom. I’d been bringing up food and sitting on the edge of our bed pointlessly attempting to coax her out of this hole into which she’d vanished.

Wednesday night came and she remained in bed. I fed my mom a story about her being ill with some highly contagious bug. That kept them out of the room and bought me another day to pray for improvement. It also helped explain why I was sleeping on the couch.

But apparently all the worrying was for naught, because Thursday morning I awoke to the sound of humming coming from the kitchen. My eyes focused in on her beaming face. A pot of coffee was brewing and I could already smell Thanksgiving dinner in the making. Her eyes met mine and a huge smile spread across her face. “Good morning sleepy head,” she said energetically.

I made my way into the kitchen, my mouth probably hanging open in shock. I watched as she plunged her hand deep into the turkey’s cavity and pulled out the innards. She then rubbed olive oil and seasoning all over the bird and finished by stuffing it with all manner of vegetables and herbs. My girlfriend, the vegetarian, was joyfully preparing our Thanksgiving feast without flinching. In fact, she simply continued to hum and smile.

She washed her hands, popped the turkey into the oven, and turned around and winked at me. “This is going to be a fine meal my love,” she said. And as she walked by I felt a slap on my tush.

“What’s the matter?” she asked, her head cocked ever so slightly, bottom lip poking out in a faux pout. “Cat got your tongue?”

turkey

Stay positive & love your life!

-Melissa

Today:

Listening to:  Tegan And Sara – Northshore

First song that popped into my head this morning:

It’s amazing what pops into your head out of nowhere.  I’m going to start including these from time to time.  Some of them are quite bizarre.

Eating:  Leftover Mellow Mushroom

Random fact:  I did in fact prepare the turkey this Thanksgiving.  I’m also a vegetarian.

19 thoughts on “Trifecta: The Guest Part XV

  1. A vegetarian stuffing a bird joyfully is awfully suspicious. (I love turkey and I can’t even prep a turkey!)

    By the way, when I clicked the link on Trifecta I got an error/post not found page. It could just be me, but you might want to check the link 🙂

  2. I wonder who that is joyfully stuffing that turkey??!!

  3. Something so seemingly innocent, yet it still feels very creepy.

  4. Pingback: Quick Stepp | 100 Word Song: Nearly Lost You (The Guest Part XVI)

  5. I like how the tone in this changes and the punch at the end. Nice job! By the way, your link is still with errors, but it’s good peeps are still finding you!

  6. Ooooh! Things got a lot more interesting 😀
    More please!

    • 🙂 I still have several more installments to go to finish this up. Funny, this started as a October story and here we are in December! Thanks for following along!

      • Oh, long ones always turn out better 😀 You’ve got the element of suspense going for you.
        You’re most welcome 🙂

  7. welcome back with this and 100 word song. I really liked the dialogue and light, naughty feel at the end.

    Love tegan and sara…even thought they’ve gone pop

  8. Ah,the fun has started ;-)Poor fellow -has some tough days ahead-wonder if either will survive?Great going Melissa-waiting for the next 🙂

  9. That was intriguing!

    • Thanks! Not a lot of time for blogging lately. I hate I’m missing out on reading so many great Trifecta posts :(. Gonna have to catch up when I get my head above water at work!

  10. Interesting story – I feel intrigued by the characters and want to know more!

Okay, your turn to talk!

