Trifecta: The Guest Part XIII

This week Trifecta asked us to use:

COMPANION (noun)
1
: one that accompanies another : comrade, associate; also: one that keeps company with another
2
obsolete : rascal
3
a : one that is closely connected with something similar
b : one employed to live with and serve another

I return to my series The Guest.  Check out my last installment here.  It was written for Lance’s 100 Word Song Challenge.

This week poor Matt takes over the reigns of the story as it appears our leading lady is elsewhere.

Weeks had gone by and still she refused to speak to me.  Each day passed in silence, icy glances, and my failed attempts to make things right.  The light in her had gone out the moment I’d flipped the switch to the garbage disposal.  I’d seen it flicker as I snatched the cup from her desperate clutch.  She watched loudly protesting as I poured them into the sink.  One final scream erupted as my hand reached for the switch and then nothing; as the sound of the grinding and chopping abated, dead silence.  Our guests stared back at us horrified.  She slowly retreated to the corner and melted, her body like a puddle of sorrow and defeat. 

“Perhaps we should call it a night, huh?”  I’d said to our friends.  And none hesitated to make their exits. 

“Hey, look at me.  Are you in there?” 

I must have uttered these words to her a hundred times.  Never was there a response. It was as if that disposal switch was connected to her and somehow I’d turned her off.  She seemed broken, half here.  The irony that I was now living with a zombie of sorts did not escape me.

I tried joking. 

“Did you hear the one about that explosion at the French cheese factory?”

Solemn face.

“All that was left was de brie.  Get it?”

She wouldn’t even crack a smile. 

I embraced her only to be met with a stiff body that slowly backed out of my arms.

With each failed attempt I felt her retreat into herself even more.

The only sign of life I saw was her constant contact with Cubbie.  The two were now inseparable.  It seemed like they were tethered to one another on some level I couldn’t comprehend, companions.  He followed her everywhere:  weaving in and out of her legs as she trudged through the house, curling up in her lap the moment she sat, and crying pitifully during the odd occasion she left the house.   

mind

Want to read more?  I also knocked out 100 more word for Lance’s 100 Word Song Challenge this week…..despite the song being by Lyle Lovett.  Go check it out!  The Guest Part XIV.

Stay positive & love your life!

-Melissa

Today:

Listening to: The Decemberists – The Perfect Crime #2 – A Touch Of Class Robs The Bank Remix

Random thought:  I find it fairly humorous that I switched narrators in this story.  Just this morning I was bitching to Matt about the use of different narrators within a story sometimes annoying me.  Each chapter in “Queen of the Damned” is told from the perspective of a different person.  Cool yes, but it can really break up the story’s pacing and be somewhat distracting.  Hopefully my switch doesn’t have that effect.

16 thoughts on “Trifecta: The Guest Part XIII

  1. Pingback: Quick Stepp | 100 Word Song: Her First Mistake (The Guest Part XIV)

  2. This makes me wonder if the creature has taken over her….I guess I’ll have to keep reading to find out what the deal is 🙂

  3. I want to read more!

  4. Oh it’s taken over. You can feel it.

    I love those last 3 lines…go make more, mel..GO

  5. I’m interested, but a little lost. Not sure that this piece can stands alone without reading the backstory. Thanks for linking up!

  6. A symbiotic relationship? It’s getting more and more creepy, but in a good way.

Okay, your turn to talk!

