100 Word Song: Her First Mistake (The Guest Part XIV)

This week  for the 100 Word Song Challenge, my fellow blogging buddy Jen came over and whispered in Leeroy’s ear.  She happened to whisper Lyle Lovett.  Well, I can’t always love every song right?  But I still adore Jen and let’s be honest, 85%+ of the time, I love her musical picks.

The cool thing is that the song lyrics did actually lend nicely to my story The Guest.  Check out the previous installment here.

And now let’s join Matt as he deals with the zombie in his home.

Perhaps trauma has the power to bind beings.   It was in those moments with Cubbie purring in her lap that I could almost see her light begin to shine. And suddenly the world became a better place even if it was only for an instant. 

I’d ease a little closer encouraged by the hope that she was coming back to me.  Then Cubbie would lash out, mouth curled in a snarl.  He was daring me to come any closer.  So I’d back up, leave her to the darkness, and hope tomorrow would be different.  Maybe hoping was my first mistake.

 

 

9 thoughts on “100 Word Song: Her First Mistake (The Guest Part XIV)

  1. Pingback: Quick Stepp | Trifecta: The Guest Part XIII

  2. OK I need to go back and read these, because this was awesome and totally made me want to know more!

  3. Something strange is going on…can’t wait to find out what 🙂

  4. Just read the entire series. I love what you’re doing here with the story– sure is getting interesting 😀

  5. Pingback: Quick Stepp | Trifecta: The Guest Part XV

Okay, your turn to talk!

