Twisted Mix Tape Tuesday: Your Lying Eyes

So this week Jen asked for cheating songs.  Despite the name of my mix tape, I’m not giving you The Eagles.  Also not appearing on this list is that shitty song by Hinder.  That song makes me want to do permanent damage to my eardrums thus ensuring I never have to hear it again.  So let’s just hop into this so you can see what IS on the list!

Shame for You- Lilly Allen

One British accent and some tongue in cheek lyrics deliver a fun and bubbly cheating song.

Notable lyrics:

Spreading your seed all over the town
getting too greedy and messing around:
Oh my gosh you must be joking me
if you think that you’ll be poking me

Human- The Human League

Pretty funny that this is now in an insurance commercial.  My friend Claire and I like to dramatically perform the spoken word portion of this song:  “The tears I cry aren’t tears of pain….”

Notable lyrics:

I wouldn’t ever try to hurt you
I just needed someone to hold me
To fill the void while you were gone
To fill this space of emptiness

And staying in the big 80’s….

Tempted- The Squeeze

Notable lyrics:

Tempted by the fruit of another
Tempted but the truth is discovered
What’s been going on
Now that you have gone

 

One Way Out- Allman Brothers Band

As told by the other man.  You have to be sneaky unless you want a “Hey Joe” situation.

Notable lyrics:

Ain’t but one way out baby, Lord I just can’t go out the door.
Ain’t but one way out baby, and Lord I just can’t go out the door.
Cause there’s a man down there, might be your man I don’t know.

 

Criminal- Fiona Apple

When guilt consumes you.

Notable lyrics:

I’ve done wrong and
I want to
Suffer for my sins
I’ve come to you
‘Cause I need
Guidance to be true

Bonus:

Here’s a nice little ditty by your favorite emo band-

I Write Sins Not Tragedies- Panic at the Disco

 

Supposedly Brandon Boyd wrote the song Pardon Me in response to a cheating girlfriend-

Pardon Me- Incubus

 

Stay positive & love your life!

 

-Melissa

 

 

Today:

Listening to:  Soundgarden – Halfway There

Eating:  Spicy Cheese Its

Drinking :  Water

Random fact:  I wanted to include Zeppelin’s Heart Breaker, but I couldn’t decide if it is truly about cheating or a hooker with which he unfortunately fell in love.  Six of one, half dozen of the other?

 

 

 

 

 

17 thoughts on “Twisted Mix Tape Tuesday: Your Lying Eyes

  1. I like your picks! I wish I thought of “Human”.

  2. I didn’t use HUMAN because I have never liked it. It was the first one that popped in my head along with Me and Mrs Jones, but ever since the 80s I hear that song (it’s so cliche) and my stomach knots. I want to call “BULLSHIT” on it. Because it’s like Ross and Rachel’s “We were on a break!” classic line. LOL

    I always like your lists, they remind me of songs I like and introduce me to songs I didn’t know.
    I love Lily Allen and Criminal by Fiona is a perfect example of consuming guilt.

    (also, so jealous you got to see ZZ Ward, I am enjoying her music)

  3. What an amazing list! There’s three Panic! songs I love to hear and that’s one of them. I’m so with you on the Fiona Apple, Lily Allen and of course, the Incubus!

  4. great picks.

    Lily Allen, Human League, and Squeeze would have been my picks had I not done the “songs I listen to with my kids” angle.

    and of course Fiona. great list this week

  5. Panic at the DIsco!! excellent choice!

    I totally was on part of your wavelength with the Allman Brothers…used
    ‘One Way Out’ over at the Doctrine.
    Funny, isn’t it, how some songs have oddly memorable lyrics… I remember to this day how we all loved to use the line, ‘Ain’t no way in the world, I’m going out that front door!’

    great post

  6. Great list! Thanks for the introduction to Lily Allen – hadn’t heard that before. And I adore that song by Human League. So haunting.

  7. That Fiona Apple song was new to me–loved it. I had “One Way Out” too–so great! For the record, I think “Heartbreaker” is about cheating. I don’t think a “pro” would call him by another guy’s name.

  8. Liked the first one! And I always like Fiona Apple, but never really listen to her. I’d forgotten about this one. Such a great song.

  9. Love. First of all I have to LOL at the Hinder comment, Never heard that song until today. Also, Human! OMG haven’t even thought of that song in so many years!! Now I have to stick it on some playlist on the ipod. Also I almost used Tempted, but I couldn’t decide if it was really cheating… because I have a whole idea for a thinking about it or jealous topic… hmm… And can I say, my only exposure to Lilly Allen has been through the mixtape series, but I really love her.
    Thank you so much for this!

  10. I loved singing Human and Tempted when I was young and naive and had no idea what the songs really meant. I think Lily Allen’s cheekiness is adorable. And the song’s probably for the same guy on “Smile”. 🙂

Okay, your turn to talk!

