Trifecta: Craft (The Guest Part X)

Click here to read the previous installment of  The Guest.

This week we continue with part X and 333 more words inspired by Trifecta’s prompt:

 CRAFT (noun)

1 : skill in planning, making, or executing : dexterity

2 a : an occupation or trade requiring manual dexterity or artistic skill
b plural : articles made by craftspeople

3 : skill in deceiving to gain an end

Remember:

Your response must be between 33 and 333 words.

You must use the 3rd definition of the given word in your post.

Let’s see what Matt and his crazy girlfriend are up to-

With the house clean, the decorations up, and the food and booze out, we were ready to host a killer party.  And aside from the fact that I hadn’t seen Cubbie and we’d hours before burned an alien pod in our chimenea, I thought everything was going superbly. 

“You’re acting awfully weird even for you,” Matt said as we prepared ourselves to receive the first guests.

“No way!  I’m just excited about this party!” I reassured.

 All the while my eyes kept darting back to the cupboard where the baby pods were hidden.  How long until I needed to move them from that cup?  Why the hell couldn’t I just have tossed them in the trash?  Why did I feel the need to constantly make sure they were safe?  I was going to have to use some serious craft and diversion tactics to keep Matt from discovering us, I mean them.   

At eight on the dot, the doorbell rang. But It was just our next door neighbor Mike.  He hadn’t been invited to the party; zombies and cocktails weren’t really his scene.

“Oh, I guess you guys are entertaining tonight,” he said peeking in the house.  “I won’t keep you long.  It’s Cubbie I’m here about.”

My heart sank.  Shit, that thing must have dragged him outside.  I glanced up at Matt preparing to console him. 

“Did y’all know he’s outside?  He was over in my garage eating Peachy’s food.  I tried to grab him to bring back over, but he hissed and scurried out.  A few minutes later I heard him and Peachy fighting.  Just thought you’d want to know.  He’s normally so friendly; I’m not sure what’s gotten into him,” Mike explained.

My sigh of relief must have been audible.  Cubbie was alive!  I had one less thing to worry about tonight; now we just had to get him back in the house.

I didn’t even have time to step outside before Cubbie came darting in.  And he looked a mess.  

Chimenea-20080706

Stay positive & love your life!

-Melissa

Today:

Listening to:  The Faint – Symptom Finger

Eating:  Veggie burger and brussel sprouts

Drinking:  H2O

Random fact:  I didn’t eat a single piece of Halloween candy.  Someone send me your candy corn leftovers.

12 thoughts on “Trifecta: Craft (The Guest Part X)

  1. Maybe in the chaos of the party she can move her little aliens to a safer place.
    Great work!

  2. Uh-oh…I wonder if kitty is now a host for whatever that thing is? I’m curious to see what happens next!

  3. So, I’m sitting in the kitchen, waiting for the party to start : )
    Not entirely cool with the cat being back in the house, or the pods being in the cupboard, though…

    btw, I believe you mean ‘peeking’.

  4. I can’t believe she is hiding some pods in her cupboard-she is downright crazy!Matt needs to take a rain check-forever!She sure is turning a blind eye-deliberate or is she so dumb?Hopefully this will not turn out to be some other kind of “killer” party-(shudder)!You got me hooked Melissa:-)

  5. If it’s not one thing, it’s another… love to know how this ends. Thanks for linking up and don’t forget to vote!

  6. This was perfect:

    “You’re acting awfully weird even for you,” Matt said as we prepared ourselves to receive the first guests.

    It makes their relationship so natural that the story can be as bat crap crazy as possible.

    There’s a lot of strong writing going on here, Melissa. welcome back

  7. Pingback: Quick Stepp | Trifecta: The Guest Part XI

Okay, your turn to talk!

