Five for Friday: My 5 Favorite Halloween Candies

My dear readers, this week’s Five for Friday brings us to yet another confession.  I feel like I’m really getting comfortable with letting you in on my deepest, darkest secrets.  I mean, it really doesn’t get any deeper than My Love for Yoga Pants or My Secret Power and it doesn’t get any darker than 5 Guys I have an Odd Crush On.  But this week I’m really dropping a bomb of a secret on you in honor of Halloween.

Halloween has always been one of my favorite times of year.  Festivals, costumes, pumpkins, hay rides, haunted houses….the list of awesome is endless.  But let’s be honest, the best reason for Halloween is the candy, right?  “Hell yeah!, ” you’re thinking.  “The houses with the Snickers/Reese’s Cups/Butterfingers are the best!” you chant.  Well, that’s exactly where I’m going to stop you.  Yeah, I like all of those things.  But my favorite candies, those ones I look forward to all year, are probably the ones you groan about.  They’re probably the ones that make you consider egging a house or two.  They’re the ones that come from the “uncool” house on the block.  So get ready, here come my:

5 Favorite Halloween Candies 

Number 5:  Bit O’ Honey

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThis delectable treat is a gift from our tiny buzzing friends, the bees.  Originating in 1924, it’s a chewy honey flavored taffy with tiny bits of almond.

I could eat enough of these to employ a small colony of bees, thereby helping to save the declining population by putting their fuzzy butts to work.

Trade:  One Twix bar for two of your Bits O’ Honey.

Number 4:  Necco Wafter and Smarties

neccoI’m including Smarties because these yummy wafers are true rarities on the trick-or-treat scene.  First produced in 1847, each pack contains 8 different flavors:  lemon, lime, orange, clove, cinnamon, wintergreen, chocolate, and licorice.

Trade:  One for one trade of anything in my bag (excluding numbers 1-3).*

*Two for one if you’ll agree to remove the licorice flavor prior to the trade.  Yuck!

Number 3:  Sixlets

sixlets_20ballBecause what is better than chocolate?  Chocolate-flavored!  These tiny, round sleeves of yum came to us from our neighbors to the north in the 1960s.  The chocolatey flavored center is a combination of cocoa and carob.

Trade:  One pack of my fun-size M&Ms for two sleeves.

Number 2:  Candy Corn

candycorn These waxy kernels have been as much a symbol of Halloween as the pumpkin since their creation in the 1880s.  As much as they are loved for their seasonal appearance in candy dishes nationwide, they are still on the bottom of most kids trick-or-treat wish list.  I, on the other hand, believe that just like their kindred spirit the pumpkin, these gems of delish should flavor damn near everything imaginable in the fall.

Trade:  A pack of candy corn entitles you to the pick of any chocolate confection.*

*A pumpkin shaped version gets you two picks!

Number 1:  Mary Janes (preferably the generic ones)

maryjanepeanutbutterI can feel you rolling your eyes.  That’s cool; I’m not ashamed of my love for these bastards of the trick-or-treat game.  Made in 1914, these peanut butter and molasses flavored chewy wax creations take the Bit O’ Honey treat and make it a bit mo’ better.  They possess a chewiness so powerful, it is able to remove loose dental work in a single chomp.

Trade:  All of your black and orange bombs for the contents of my entire stash once I remove numbers 2-5.

Honorable Mentions:

Milk Duds

Tootsie Roll Assortment (minus the abomination known as Dots)

Well there you have it.  I’m a sucker for the old school cheap stuff.  I suppose that makes me the ideal trick-or-treat buddy in a way huh?  What’s your favorite Halloween candy?

Stay positive & love your life!

-Melissa

Today:

Listening to:  Youngblood Hawke – Rootless – Commentary

Eating:  Salad

Drinking:  Water

Random fact:  I haven’t eaten one single candy corn this season.  That needs to be rectified soon!

5 thoughts on “Five for Friday: My 5 Favorite Halloween Candies

  1. Ditto! All of these treats probably contain “high fructose corn syrup” which puts them on the devils list according to your father. I still think they are all yummy in moderation!

  2. You like a lot of alternative candies! I’m a huge fan of the Smartees. People don’t talk about those enough.

  3. I like Smarties too. As for the others on your list….I’ll gladly send you all mine!

Okay, your turn to talk!

