Trifecta: The Guest (Part II)

Last week during the 100 Word Song Challenge, I started a month long story called “The Guest”.  Check out of the first 100 words here.

This week, the story continues with the weekly Trifecta Challenge.  Our prompt this week:

Make sure you’re using the THIRD definition of the word, as always. Good luck and bottoms up!

ZOMBIE (noun)

1 usually zombi a : the supernatural power that according to voodoo belief may enter into and reanimate a dead body b : a will-less and speechless human in the West Indies capable only of automatic movement who is held to have died and been supernaturally reanimated
b : a person markedly strange in appearance or behavior
2
a : a person held to resemble the so-called walking dead;especially : automaton
3
: a mixed drink made of several kinds of rum, liqueur, and fruit juice

Remember:

Your response must be between 33 and 333 words.

You must use the 3rd definition of the given word in your post.

The word itself needs to be included in your response.

You may not use a variation of the word; it needs to be exactly as stated above.

And now, the continuation of “The Guest”:

Is it a snail?  It still resembled plant life, but it really didn’t look like anything I’d ever seen. 

I peered into the water looking for animal-like qualities.  Is there a mouth?  I didn’t see one.  Eyes?  The little knobby bumps seemed to be oscillating, but I wasn’t sure. 

“Matt, come in here and check this thing out,” I hollered upstairs.

“What the hell do you think it is?” I asked as we both stared through the water.

“I have no clue.  But if we don’t clean it out of there soon, the fish are going to run out of room,” he said.

He was right.  Our fish had relegated themselves to the far corners.  They hadn’t even surfaced when I’d sprinkled their morning flakes. 

“They’re terrified.  That’s proof enough that this thing is no good.  Just look at it,” he said, his face contorting with disgust. 

“Well it’s clearly alive; I’d feel bad just killing it.  Besides, my curiosity has gotten the best of me.  I want to see what, exactly, this thing is.” I said, my eyes wide with amusement.

“Okay crazy,” he laughed.  “But just remember what they say about curiosity.  And don’t come crying to me when your precious fish bite the dust.”

“Fine.  It’s just some sort of snail thing.  What’s the worst that can happen? Now, let’s talk about our Halloween party.  We need to get planning.”

“What’s to plan?  We need booze and food,” he said smiling.  He knew my propensity for planning every minor detail.

“Hardy har-har,” I said,  punching his arm.  “Seriously, I want this to be the best party ever.  I was thinking maybe a “Walking Dead” theme. You know, we could make some body part decorations, a grave yard out front, and there’s even a drink called a zombie!”

“Sounds fun, as long as I don’t have to dress up,” he replied.

I had given up long ago on getting him to don a costume.  It was never going to happen. 

18911_4128436846125_380384615_n

Stay positive & love your life!

-Melissa

Today:

Listening to: Real Estate – It’s Real

Eating & Drinking:  Not much.  Busy day.

Random fact:  Must like this character, my Matt really does hate dressing up for Halloween.

35 thoughts on “Trifecta: The Guest (Part II)

  1. “What’s the worst that can happen?” <—famous last words! Looking forward to the next installment to find out the answer.

    Um … is it weird that I really want an invite to this fictional party? Booze, food and a Walking Dead theme? Hells yeah!

  2. The professor doesn’t believe in zombies, you know.

  3. Oooh, this is a bit spooky. Another-world visitor in the fish tank. Save those fish! Keep up the good work and thanks for linking up!

  4. So what could that be!? I am curious… An interesting write. 🙂

    -HA

  5. “What’s the worst that can happen?” is an awful lot like “what else can go wrong?” – and that’s a question one should never ask 🙂

  6. Ooooh such potential for the inevitable empty fish tank. .. Maybe even at the party. I wanted to keep reading.

  7. I seriously believe that if alien life were living on earth, we would find it deep in the ocean. There is some freaky marine life out there. I wouldn’t be surprised if there were zombie snails.

  8. Pingback: Quick Stepp | 100 Word Song: Poor Places (The Guest-Part III)

  9. I’m kind of glad we don’t have the tanks set up anymore. Id be checking them constantly for “guests”. Nice job. I want to yell “don’t open that door!” As an afterthought, Synchronicity comes to mind…

  10. Spooky on two accounts – what they hey is in that tank? And a Walking Dead party? Oh boy.. I can think of any number of things that might go wrong. Great set up! What’s next, pray tell.. I want to know.. 🙂

  11. The easygoing tone does not bode well.
    Plus fish on the brink…

  12. I’m with Kymm! I’ve got my eyes covered because I’m nervous now…:) But that being said, more please!

  13. Pingback: Quick Stepp | Trifecta: The Guest Part IV

Okay, your turn to talk!

