100 Word Song: Lovebuzz

So this week Lance (and Leeroy) over at My Blog Can Beat Up Your Blog selected a song by one of my favorite groups, Nirvana.  As I’ve mentioned numerous times, Nirvana was the first real (you can’t count stuff like NKOTB) band for which I ever fell.  Man did I fall hard.  And then Kurt set me up for the okie-doke.  Just as quickly as they captured my heart, they were gone.  Well, the music lived on, but it is only a memory.  As each year passes and these albums, the soundtrack of my youth, ages, I’m reminded of all the music we all must have missed out on due to Kurt’s early curtain call.

It is that quick change in a person (though the signs are always there if we look) that inspires today’s 100 word story based on Nirvana’s cover of “Lovebuzz” from their album Bleach.  One minute you’re riding high and the next you’re left looking back wondering what happened.  Is there anything to undo what’s been done; erase today’s problems and capture some of yesterday’s sunshine?

 

He glanced at the clock.  11:43 PM

“Here we go again,” he sighed. 

He turned off the TV and made his way to bed, ready to crawl into his side.  Her side wouldn’t be occupied until, well, who knew what time she’d stumble in.  Though he wasn’t surprised anymore, it still stung.  She’d just changed, completely.

The bedroom door creaked open slowly.

“Daddy?” a soft voice whispered.

“Yes sweetheart?”

“I had a bad dream,” she stammered through sniffles.  “Where’s Mommy?”

“Crawl up here and go to sleep, little queen of my heart.  She’ll be here when you wake.”

He hoped.

door_cracked_open

Stay positive & love your life!

-Melissa

Today:

Listening to:  Arctic Monkeys – Snap Out Of It

Eating:  Salad and pasta

Drinking:  So much water

Random fact:  I have a lot more bad dreams as an adult than I ever had as a kid.  I suppose the knowledge of all the scarey things in life fuels the dream machine.

8 thoughts on “100 Word Song: Lovebuzz

  1. I relate to this completely. I miss the days of my daughters crawling up in my lap and “being little” with me, as they called it.

    I have 4 queens of my heart in my house.

    I like the crisp, realistic dialogue. I felt “there”.

  2. I love the father/daughter dynamic. My youngest frequently crawls into bed with me. Her daddy is kind enough to leave and go sleep somewhere else cause she only wants Mommy 🙂

  3. You painted a vivid picture. I had that late night feeling reading it and how bittersweet that while mom/wife is out somewhere, dad is there to comfort daughter.

  4. Bittersweet and sad. At least daddy’s there to offer comfort to the little girl.

Okay, your turn to talk!

