Twisted Mix Tape Tuesday: Slow Jams aka Kill Me Now

Ya know there are just some things in life that I don’t do.  I don’t chew with my mouth open (and if you do this around me, you may be on the receiving end of a slap).  I don’t watch Crossfire.  I don’t do R&B (minus a few very minor exceptions).  Seriously, when I saw that we were doing slow jams this week, I almost puked.  Because in my version of hell R&B would be the soundtrack.

Level 1:  Mary J. Blige sings my life story.

Level 2:  R. Kelly plays an extended version of his entire catalog…..on repeat.

Level 3:  Barry White just moans and breathes and says shit like “oh” in the mic for eternity.

Level 4:  Well, you get the picture…

Seriously, I can’t handle it.  Right up there with R&B is whatever type of music Celine Dion is.  So maybe when I get to hell’s core they will blast a mash-up of My Heart Will Go On and some Michael Bolton song.

Rose didn’t let go, Jack killed himself because he heard that song coming from the boat’s deck.  It was just too much to endure.

Anyway, imagine my relief when I took a closer look at the instructions:

Relaxing slow jams. You wanna chill, you want your friends to chill. Any genre from rock to jazz to hip-hop, but it’s gotta be slow-jams

Ok, I can hop on board with this!  I mean, I’d much prefer to rock out, but at least I don’t have to forfeit this week out of concern for my mental health.

So here are some “slow jams” (ugh, even that phrase makes me shudder….Mufasa, Mufasa, Mufasa), that don’t make me want to kill myself.  In fact, these songs soothe my rock n’ roll brain.

lion-king-quotes-mufasa-say-it-again-668

Ooooohh, say it again!

 

Let’s start with one by my favorite group.  This song was written about a friend who committed suicide.  So it doesn’t have a very uplifting message, but it is a beautiful song nonetheless.

Beyond the Grey Sky-311

 

And because I can’t stop listening to …..Like Clockwork (QOTSA’s new album), I’m including this.  This really is the best album to come out this year!

The Vampyre of Time and Memory-Queens of the Stone Age

 

I found this one through the movie “Rockstar”.  I listened to it over and over again after I got it off the internet without purchasing it….It was a different time people!  I included the movie clip so we can all enjoy Mark Wahlberg.

Colorful- The Verve Pipe

 

Not many bands can get me to chill like this one.

Mykonos-Fleet Foxes

 

An unlikely song for my Smashing Pumpkins favorite, from the soundtrack for “Lost Highway”

Eye-Smashing Pumpkins

 

Gotta feed the hippie soul.  Jen, we need to do a hippie list!  Jam bands, 60s, love, the whole shebang!

A Million Years- Alexander

 

OK, because of the vocals (which by the way are amazing, Andreya Triana is awesome), I guess this is R&Bish.  Bonobo is one of my ultimate chill bands.  Check out their whole Black Sands album for a good introduction.

Eyesdown- Bonobo feat. Andreya Triana

 

I’ll end on a singer who I didn’t think I’d enjoy.  She was over hyped and exploded onto the scene.  I initially dismissed her as another chick jumping on the Adele train, but she’s got chops.  Big time.  This song is brilliant and so is the video.  Well worth the 10 minutes.  Song starts 3:48 if you want to cheat.

Ride-Lana Del Rey

 

Stay positive & love your life!

-Melissa

 

Today:

Listening to:  Queens Of The Stone Age – …Like Clockwork  for the millionth time.

Eating:  Broccoli, gardein “chicken”, quinoa

Drinking:  H2O

Random fact:  I detest palmetto bugs….worse than R&B even.  Growing up in FL, you’d think I’d be use to them.  Yeah, not so much.  I turn into a baby and shriek like I’m being murdered.  So imagine my ultimate horror when one fell out of my towel and onto me getting out of the shower this morning.  No words folks.  I’m happy to be alive.  Now, does anyone want to come remove the 1000 trees from my yard so I can be free of this fear?  The pest guy says “If you have a lot of trees, they’ll get in your house.”  Ugh, unacceptable.

 

 

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Twisted Mix Tape Tuesday: Slow Jams aka Kill Me Now

  1. Mary J is amazing. She doesn’t work enough

    Good choices, here. I appreciated the Pumpkins. I needed that.

  2. What the heck is up with all the Barry White love? Never have gotten into that. But Rockstar? um,….yeah…..yum….

  3. I also adored that song from Rockstar when I first heard it. Great pic! And I laughed at your descriptions of Hell. Not too far off from how I feel at times re: slow jams…

  4. Pingback: Quick Stepp | Twisted Mixtape Tuesday/Trifecta Combo: Onward to 2014!

Okay, your turn to talk!

