Twisted Mix Tape Tuesday: The Lost Art of Keeping a Secret

So Jen just totes left us without any direction this week!  Wah!  Her instructions were: “To help relieve the stress, I decided to use our theme of “Anything Goes” to create a fun playlist. You my friend are in for a treat.”

As I’m a creature who always craves structure, I created my own theme.  I can’t just willy nilly throw you a list of songs; not when there are millions and millions from which to choose.  How would I ever decide?  So, considering that I get to see QOTSA this Saturday at Music Midtown (woot!), I thought of one of my favorite songs by them “The Lost Art of Keeping a Secret”  and thus my list’s name and theme:

The Lost Art of Keeping a Secret

 

The Lost Art of Keeping a Secret- Queens of the Stone Age

Notable lyrics- “I think you already know how far I’d go not to say.  You know the art isn’t gone and I’m taking my song to the grave.”

 

The Lying Lies & Dirty Secrets of Miss Erica Court- Coheed and Cambria

For those of you not familiar, Coheed and Cambria’s albums are a saga that follow a science fiction story line called The Amory Wars written by lead singer Claudio Sanchez.  The story has been translated into comic books and a full-length novel.  Also, these guys are insanely good live.

Notable lyrics-  “On the words of your friends, in the unwritten end.  For when you go they won’t be following.  Now sell all your friends for the unwritten end. Cause when you go they won’t be following him.”

 

In Keeping Secrets of Silent Earth: 3- Coheed and Cambria

Notable lyrics-  “In the seventh turning hour will the victims shadow fall? Should the irony grow hungry?  With the victory and all they sought for we were one among the fence. One among the fence.”

 

And on to lighter subject matter….

Secret Squirrel- Marcy Playground

I still love these guys.  I listened to this album over and over again.

Notable lyrics-  “Secret squirrel splashes in. Sirens warn Tsunami. Secret’s come to save us all.  Sirens warn eminent doom.  He can breathe in water yeah.  And super tail can stop the danger.”

 

Secret- The Pierces

Notable lyrics-  “Got a secret.  Can you keep it?  Swear this one you’ll save.  Better lock it, in your pocket.  Taking this one to the grave. If I show you then I know you won’t tell what I said.  Cause two can keep a secret if one of them is dead.”

 

And back to heavier stuff…

Voices Carry- Til Tuesday

Notable lyrics- “I try so hard not to get upset.  Because I know all the trouble I’ll get.  Oh, he tells me tears are something to hide and something to fear.  And I try so hard to keep it inside, so no one can hear.”

 

And an upbeat one to end…..

Little Secrets- Passion Pit

Notable lyrics-  “Oh, have you ever felt so goddamn strong?  How come it takes some people so damn long?  He tried to squeeze the lemon juice to rain; the citrus drawing out the seasons stains.”

 

“None are so fond of secrets as those who do not mean to keep them.”
Charles Caleb Colton

 

Stay positive & love your life!

 

-Melissa

 

Today:

Listening to:  Marcy Playground – Rebel Sodville

Eating:  Veggie burger, lima beans, quinoa.

Drinking:  H20

Random fact:  I can keep a secret.

 

 

 

 

 

 

13 thoughts on “Twisted Mix Tape Tuesday: The Lost Art of Keeping a Secret

  1. Great theme and list. I’ve heard that Passion Pit song so many times but never knew its name or who sang it. Its catchy. And The Pierces in that song remind me of the Dresden Dolls’ punk cabaret style.

  2. Pingback: Creation:TWISTED MIX TAPE TUESDAY 25 | an honest day or two

  3. Great List!!! Love the ‘Til Tuesday tune. Thanks, Slu

  4. agree with the others! nice self-induced theme (and execution of said theme)…

  5. Ok sometimes I can keep a secret. Just not from my sister. So if you don’t want my sister to know don’t tell me. Also.. I am a bad liar. So if you think someone might ask me about the secret don’t tell me. And Voices Carry? Perfection.

  6. well crafted

    You’re uber specific like I am with playlists.

    Good choices passion pit (great live band, saw them earlier this year) and marcy’s playground (underrated group)

    • I agree, Marcy Playground is totally underrated!

      I saw Passion Pit this year too. I felt like an old fish out of water (so many youngsters), but I enjoyed the show. Did you see them at Party in the Park?

      • yes, with my cousin aka “Sutcliffe” on my blog on my concert reviews for The Whigs and Gaslight Anthem. I didn’t blog that show, though. weird…same place, same time.

  7. Pingback: Twisted MixTape Tuesday | Crow Arrow, Inc.

Okay, your turn to talk!

