Trifextra: Bloody Good

This weekend’s Trifextra challenge instructed:

This week we are taking you, once again, back to school for a lesson in literary devices. Remember the apostrophe? About.com defines apostrophe as, “A figure of speech in which some absent or nonexistent person or thing is addressed as if present and capable of understanding.” That same site provides some excellent examples of apostrophes in classical literature. Check them out and then have a crack at it yourself. Give us your best 33-word example of an apostrophe.

And so in honor of Friday the 13th and in keeping with my Five for Friday post, I bring you a “Bloody Good” example of an apostrophe.

 

Oh horror flick, your blood and gore delight me.

You unsettle me with such sickeningly sweet slaughter.

Scream queens and twisted nerves, I clutch my blanket and quake at the tiniest of noises.

 

shower-scene-scream-movie

 

Stay positive & love your life!

 

-Melissa

 

 

18 thoughts on “Trifextra: Bloody Good

  1. “sickeningly sweet slaughter”

    That’s awesome! Being scared shitless by a horror movie is one of life’s little pleasures. Love the title too.

  2. Ahhh this photo is from Alfred Hitchcock’s Psycho right? 🙂

  3. yep then you need someone to cuddle close with

  4. scream queens and twisted nerves – love it!
    I’m not a horror fan, but this post is great. As is the title.

  5. I’m way too chicken to watch scary movies- I end up with nightmares! I like the line with scream queens and twisted nerves.

  6. ha! so scary, you look away, but then have to look right back! fun take on the prompt.

    best,
    MOV

  7. My daughter is like you, she loves scary movies… me, not so much. But, Psycho is one of my favorite movies. It’s actually kind of funny, if you know where to look for Hitchcock’s subliminal jokes.

  8. This is my fav among all the others that I have read till now,Melissa-it made me laugh gleefully:-)

  9. That feeling can be so bad and yet so good. It must be the adrenaline rush!
    Thank you for linking up!

  10. Creeptasic and perfect for Friday the 13th.

Okay, your turn to talk!

