Trifextra: She Who Wears the Invisible Crown

“What a loft Josie!” I exclaim.  “You really nailed it!”

“Game point,” she squeaks.

Grabbing the tether, she lobs the final shot.  I fake a swing and miss.

“Here’s your crown Josie! “

tumblr_lovc6cfA6P1qmhp1qo1_500

This was written for the Trifextra Weekend prompt:

This weekend we’re asking for 30 of your own words plus the three following words for a total of 33 words. Tether Loft Crown

 

I never had a little sister; but I’d like to think that if I had, I’d have let her win a game or two.  Though my little brother may beg to differ!

 

Stay positive & love your life!

-Melissa

 

33 thoughts on “Trifextra: She Who Wears the Invisible Crown

  1. So fun for those three words to fall together so naturally in your piece. Lovely and loving! 🙂

  2. Pingback: IN GLORY:TETHER LOFT CROWN:TRIFEXTRA#84 | an honest day or two

  3. This is so sweet! When my competitive sons play tether ball, their goal is to nail each other. Last one standing, bleeding or not, wins. Yeesh!

  4. I like that you have a light and fun piece.

    • I try to balance out the depressing stuff I write. Ha. I wrote a piece about suicide yesterday that my Mom told me was “cute”. I said, “Mom, it’s about a guy with nothing left to live for.” She said, “I know, but I like the old timey language.” Love that she reads everything.
      Thanks for reading.

  5. Tetherball!! Summer camp and horseflies! And what kind of crown was that, exactly? Not poison sumac, I hope! haha

  6. I loved the “she squeaks.”

  7. A sweet story. Seamless use of the prompt words.

  8. I love the way you used loft – and the way you’ve captured the joy of the moment. Beautiful!

  9. This is so sweet. Great use of the prompt!

    My kids’ tetherball games get pretty cutthroat. I’m expecting a Marcia-Brady-football-to-the-nose moment one of these days.

  10. Ah, sibling games. Don’t talk to me about Monopoly! This took me back – thank you for the memories 🙂

  11. Tether ball kinda terrifies me. All sports do, actually…haha

  12. Sounds like you would have been a great big sister.

  13. Super cute and loved the unique way you used the word “loft” 🙂

  14. That was lovely..how seamlessly the words came together in a joyful image.

  15. Such a sweet response to the prompt. Brings back a flood of memories of doing just that. Thank you for that, this is one of those stories that can make your day.

  16. fun, literal, and well delivered. enjoyed it, melissa

  17. Thanks for linking up! Be sure to come back and vote!

Okay, your turn to talk!

