Five for Friday: My Five Favorite Tarantino Films

So the other day Matt and I were talking about Five for Friday.  I was bringing up some of my ideas and he says, “All you write about is music.”  Well, okay.  I mean, it is one of my very favorite things in life, so naturally I’m going to write about it.  A lot.  And between all of my Twisted Mix Tape Tuesday posts, 100 Word Songs, and just random thoughts, I suppose I do have a tendency to mention it quite a bit.  So guess what?  This week’s Five for Friday is not “technically” about music; it’s about film.  Specifically, it’s about my five favorite films of one of my favorite directors, Quentin Tarantino.

Why Tarantino?  One, he’s unapologetically un-PC and I adore that.  He’s not afraid to poke fun at ridiculous social issues and he ends up making the bad guys (slave owners, nazis, etc.) look like chumps.  Second, he’ll deliver some gratuitous violence.  Yeah, I hear ya, violence is bad.  But when it’s presented in an over-the-top, in your face, blood for the sake of blood sort of way, I’m down.  Third, he’ll camp it up.  He’ll give you spaghetti western.  Martial arts flick?  Yep.  Blaxploitation?  Why not.  He’ll see your Italian horror flick and raise you an alternative history movie.

Now, all of these are great reasons to love Tarantino, but there is one reason, for me, that trumps them all, his soundtracks.  This man knows how to score a damn film!  So hardy har-har Matt, today’s Five for Friday post IS about music AGAIN!

resd

Here are my:

Five Favorite Tarantino Films

(based upon soundtrack alone)

Number 5-  Inglorious Bastards 2009

“Cat People” by David Bowie

This scene is so bad ass.  Never has a woman putting on makeup seemed so threatening.

Number 4- Django Unchained 2012

I love the placement of modern rap in this “historical” piece.  It somehow didn’t feel very out of place.  “100 Black Coffins” by Rick Ross and the “Unchained Payback/Untouchable Remix” by Tupac and James Brown both fit nicely.

My favorite, as with many Tarantino pieces, is the opening credit track.  It really sets you up for just how “uncomfortable” of a film this is.

“Django Theme” by Luis Bacalov

Number 3-  Kill Bill Volume 1 2003

“Bang Bang (My Baby Shot Me Down)” by Nancy Sinatra and “Woo Hoo” by the 5,6,7,8’s are terrific.  But this one freaks me out every time:

“Twisted Nerve” by Bernard Herrmann

Number 2-  Pulp Fiction 1994

So many great picks on this soundtrack.  “Misirlou”, which Tarantino was involved in writing,  is probably the most notable.  “Son of a Preacher Man” by Dusty Springfield and “You Never Can Tell” by Chuck Berry  also play big parts.  But the clear winner for me is:

“Girl, You’ll be a Woman Soon” by Urge Overkill

Number 1- Reservoir Dogs 1992

“Little Green Bag” by George Baker Selection is by far my favorite song Tarantino has ever used in one of his films.  I can close my eyes and picture the opening credits rolling and our motley crew sauntering down the street.

“Hooked on a Feeling” by Blue Swede is also a stellar pick.  But THE song of the film and the clear winner of this list is:

“Stuck in the Middle with You” by Stealer’s Wheel

Man, what a scene!

Even with all of these great tunes and scenes on the list, there is a still a very long waiting line of additional Tarantino genius.  Do yourself a favor and rewatch his movies (don’t even tell me if you haven’t seen them….I’ll question our friendship) with the music chosen as your focus.  The man has a gift.

Till next time…….

Stay positive & love your life!

-Melissa

Today:

Listening to: Now a montage of Taratino tunes

Eating:  Not a Royale with cheese.

Drinking:  The last sip of a Sprite.  MmmMmmm that’s good.  *slurp*

Random fact:  I would have totally been cool being Mr. Pink.

5 thoughts on “Five for Friday: My Five Favorite Tarantino Films

  1. do.. they…speak…English?!?!

    lol one of my totally favorite movies

  2. Pingback: Twisted MixTape 28 » JenKehl

  3. Pingback: Quick Stepp | Twisted Mix Tape Tuesday: I Scored!

Okay, your turn to talk!

