Trifextra: Round My Hometown

This weekend’s Trifextra challenge is to write a haiku:

HAIKU (noun)

: an unrhymed verse form of Japanese origin having three lines containing usually five, seven, and five syllables respectively.

Since my Five for Friday post today (go read it!) is all about how awesome my hometown is, I decided to tie the two together. Enjoy!

 

Dirt roads and bonfires

River bank summers with friends

Hometown love lingers

 

littleriver1

 

Stay positive & love your life!

-Melissa

23 thoughts on “Trifextra: Round My Hometown

  1. l like this one. Happy times.

  2. Love this nostalgic piece. Takes me back to a simpler time (before kids, bills, home repairs…) Well done!

  3. This made me smile. Funny thing is, I never realized those were the days while I was living them 🙂

  4. Lovely picture. (the words and the photograph)

  5. A very nostalgic piece. I noticed you have 8 syllables in your 2nd line. Rework to keep your work in the running? I hate to see anyone overlooked and this is definitely worthy of inclusion.

  6. This is wonderful Melissa. I have those same hometown memories! 😀

  7. You’ve painted such a lovely picture in so few words. Beautifully done!

  8. Glad you’re expressing such sentiment. excellent final line.

  9. The wistfulness sings with every syllable – lovely!

  10. Makes me homesick!

  11. Great job with the prompt. You’ve captured a lot of moments for me, personally. My best friend lived on a dirt road when we were growing up. And my grandparents lived on a river that we used to tube down. Thanks for nailing two of my hometowns. 🙂

Okay, your turn to talk!

