100 Word Song: Once

She eyed the clock.

Her temple felt like it was about to explode.  They all had their “once upon a time” stories:

Once I was a franchise quarterback.

Once I was the talk of this town.

Once I was beautiful.

It never ended.  Or maybe that was the problem; it always ended.  Because there was also always a “and then”:

I blew out my knee.

My public lost interest.

I grew old.

“Dr. Richards, did you hear what I said?”

“Time’s up for today Lindsey,” she replied.

Once she’d dreamed of helping real people; not these Hollywood has-beens.

Yeah, once.

 

couch

 

 

The 100 Word Song story was written for the prompt:  Pearl Jam- Once

Lance over at My Blog Can Beat Up Your Blog hosts this challenge each week.  This week he asked that we share our memories of this album.  I’ve actually already written about this one.  It appeared on one of my first Five for Friday posts,  Five Albums That Defined My Teenage Years, at number 3.

I actually owned this one on tape first.  To make it worse, it was a tape I bought at a flea market for a few bucks.  I discovered it was a bootleg copy upon returning to the car.

I had a really hard time choosing between this and Vs. (my favorite PJ album), but this album was likely the first alt-rock album I fell in love with; so it had to win out.  I remember my Mom saying that I wouldn’t think Eddie Vedder was cute if he weren’t a musician.  Well he is a musician and a brilliant one at that, so it’s a moot point.  Fave song:  “Evenflow”.

 

It’s still an amazing album after 22 years.

 

Stay positive & love your life!

-Melissa

 

Today:

Listening to:  The xx – Crystalised

Eating:  Veggie burger

Drinking:  H2O

Random fact:  I will be seeing Pearl Jam play for the first time this year.  I know, insane.  Better late than never.

 

4 thoughts on “100 Word Song: Once

  1. I like how you used the prompt and where it all led. And I’ve never seen Pearl Jam, so you’re way ahead of me. I’d love to though. Maybe I’ll get there this year.

  2. great perspective Melissa. You had me wondering right away!

Okay, your turn to talk!

