Five for Friday: My Five Favorite Albums (Pre-K- Elementary School edition)

Today’s album list is a bit different.  These are the albums that started my music collection;  the records Dustin and I would spin over and over again.  And as with all things from my childhood, they still mean a great deal to me.  They will join the list of items for which I scour antique stores and thrift shops making an attempt to reunite all of the things that shaped my childhood into one ridiculous (and awesome) collection.

Number 5:  Records borrowed from Dad.

My Dad is the single greatest contributor to my love of music (as I’ve mentioned before here and here).  He had an enormous collection of all of the great albums of the 60s, 70s, and 80s.  They were housed in a large wooden peach crate.  Much like my Barbie dolls, we parted ways with this collection through a hastily thought out yard sale.  There were two records that pre-kindergarten Melissa would swipe on a regular basis-

Bob Marley- Rastaman Vibration

“Get Up Stand Up” was a perfect song to dance to even if we had no clue what the lyrics meant at the time.

rastaman

and

Elton John- Greatest Hits

Dustin and I were hooked on “Crocodile Rock”, “Rocket Man” and “Honky Cat”.

Number 4:  Annie: The Original Motion Picture Soundtrack

I was a bit scared of Ms. Hannagin.

Annie_70219

Number 3:  E.T. The Extra Terrestrial

et

I love this movie.  I’m pretty sure that if you are a child of the 80s that is a requirement.  But this album trumps the movie.  First, it is narrated by MJ.  I was just a smidge obsessed with him as a kid (we’ll get into that in a second).  Second, it contains the wonderful song “Someone in the Dark”.  I would cry every time I heard ET get captured.

Number 2:  Michael Jackson’s Bad

My obsession with MJ actually started with a record I checked out of the Branford library at least 50 times.  I’m not sure which Jackson 5 album it was (likely a greatest hits), but I spent hours dancing to “Rocking Robin” and “ABC”.

When I was around 3 or 4, I ran away from home to see MJ in concert. I couldn’t understand why my mean parents simply refused to take me to the show (which was roughly 2 hours away in Jacksonville).  So outfitted in my nightgown, I hit the road.  I just knew someone would give me a ride and when I got there MJ would let me in.  My Dad scooped me up and took his fit-throwing, kicking mess of child back home.  And then we played Shoots and Ladders.

The very first “real” music album I got was “Bad”.  I’m sure my parents were so sick of hearing the same eleven songs played on constant rotation.

bad

Number 1:  The Muppet Movie Soundtrack

2933793787_5a11539890

It doesn’t get any better than the “Rainbow Connection”

Honorable mentions:

Madonna- Who’s That Girl
My Dad must have caved and bought me this one, because my Mom hated Madonna.

220px-Who's_That_Girl

Tiffany  This was the last “record” I ever owned.  I then made the jump to the high tech world of tapes where I started my collection with super bands like New Kids on the Block.

41GXYDPFGBL

What were your favorite albums as a kid?

Stay positive & love your life!

-Melissa

Today:

Listening to:  Bat For Lashes – Daniel

Eating;  Potatoes and black beans

Drinking:  Blue Monster

Random fact:  I think I must have been most drawn to Madonna’s soundtrack efforts, because later I’d become obsessed with the “Dick Tracy  Soundtrack”

4 thoughts on “Five for Friday: My Five Favorite Albums (Pre-K- Elementary School edition)

  1. I believe you still have the muppet record as well as the Tom Sawyer tape stored in the closet. You will have to check that out next visit!

  2. Can anybody play? Can we, huh, huh?

    My top pre-k(ish) 5 would have to be as follows:

    5 – Donny Osmond, Disco Train (sadly, self-purchased, and my first ever self-owned album)
    4 – Village People, Cruisin’ (self-purchased as well)
    3 – Bert Kaempfert, Winter Wonderland
    2 – Peter Pan Book & Record sets, The GI Joe Man of Action series
    1 – Marlo Thomas & Friends, Free To Be You And Me (100% pure classic, “still own a copy of, should be required by federal law” album)

Okay, your turn to talk!

