Trifecta: Keep Scrolling

Papery thin and lined like a map of his life were his hands. Yesterday he was in the spring of his days, but in the blink of an eye winter was upon him.

This piece was written in response to a Trifecta Writing Challenge prompt. This weekend’s prompt is to write 33 words exactly inspired by the following photo project by Eirik Solheim. Each slice of the photo compilation is a different day of the year, taken from the same location.

Here’s the still shot:

his weekend’s prompt is to write 33 words exactly inspired by the following photo project by Eirik Solheim. Each slice of the photo compilation is a different day of the year, taken from the same location.

Here’s the still shot: – See more at: http://www.trifectawritingchallenge.com/#sthash.gqM9UZKn.dpuf

his weekend’s prompt is to write 33 words exactly inspired by the following photo project by Eirik Solheim. Each slice of the photo compilation is a different day of the year, taken from the same location.

Here’s the still shot: – See more at: http://www.trifectawritingchallenge.com/#sthash.gqM9UZKn.dpuf

One year in one image

his weekend’s prompt is to write 33 words exactly inspired by the following photo project by Eirik Solheim. Each slice of the photo compilation is a different day of the year, taken from the same location.

Here’s the still shot: – See more at: http://www.trifectawritingchallenge.com/#sthash.gqM9UZKn.dpuf

And then I went back and actually read the directions:

Note the progression of light and seasons. Take some time to ponder the rebirth and resurgence and ultimate triumph that is nature and growth and light. Think about time and the sun and the movement of both. Fill yourself up with it, and then write.

No creepiness allowed. No girls in chains. No basements. No flesh-eating viruses. No post-apocalyptic hunger pangs. No dead philandering boyfriends. Nobody pulling the plug on Grandma partially because she’s old but mostly because she deserves it. We want soul-soaring happiness out of you this week. If that isn’t your thing, just give it a whirl. If it really isn’t your thing, come back for the next challenge when the rules are guaranteed to be different. Because that’s also the kind of challenge we are. – See more at: http://www.trifectawritingchallenge.com/#sthash.XyNkKpj5.dpuf

Note the progression of light and seasons. Take some time to ponder the rebirth and resurgence and ultimate triumph that is nature and growth and light. Think about time and the sun and the movement of both. Fill yourself up with it, and then write. No creepiness allowed. No girls in chains. No basements. No flesh-eating viruses. No post-apocalyptic hunger pangs. No dead philandering boyfriends. Nobody pulling the plug on Grandma partially because she’s old but mostly because she deserves it. We want soul-soaring happiness out of you this week. If that isn’t your thing, just give it a whirl. If it really isn’t your thing, come back for the next challenge when the rules are guaranteed to be different. Because that’s also the kind of challenge we are.

And so this is my actual post. I actually do feel this way, but I’m not usually much for mushy sentimentality in my writing.

Our love is babbling brooks,

Eagles soaring on open wing,

A tree evergreen in the coldest of life’s winters,

An eternally growing, forever renewing miracle,

Or some other wonderful shit such as that.

Stay positive & love your life!

-Melissa

20 thoughts on “Trifecta: Keep Scrolling

  1. I love, love, love the first piece Melissa. LOVE it. It must be okay to break the rules when the result is that good.
    I quite like the last line of your second piece. Hehehe.
    -Alicia Audrey

  2. P.S. Your link on the Trifextra page goes to an admin page we can’t access. You can delete it and resubmit the correct link.

    • Ugh! Fail, and for some reason I can correct it from my damn phone. I guess I will have to wait till I get to the computer. 😦 thanks for telling me though. I guess the bar isn’t conducive to blogging? Haha

  3. I agree with Alicia Audrey the first piece is excellent. Then again your second piece is very good as well.

  4. Hahaha! I was feeling all warm and fuzzy and then BOOM! Love, love, love the ending. Didn’t expect it, but it made me smile. The rest of the piece was beautiful and romantic–real great shit. 😉

    P.S. I really liked the first piece as well.

  5. I think you took the words right from my mind haha Great work.

  6. I laughed how you managed to capture poetic googelydook and make that unique.

  7. The first one wasn’t exactly upbeat, but it was beautifully written. I like the mushiness in the second one, too.

  8. The first piece is definitely beautiful, even if it’s not quite what the editors asked for. I’m glad you posted it! And I totally identify with the second piece. 🙂

  9. So symbolic of how quickly the seasons of our life pass by. Yes!

  10. I love both of these pieces. In fact, I can’t tell which one I like better. I love the last line of your first piece.

Okay, your turn to talk!

