Twisted Mix Tape Tuesday: Twice as Nice (Duos and Duets)

It’s Tuesday and you know what that means, time for another Twisted Mix Tape!  This week our hostess with the mostest, Jen over at My Skewed View, gave us this directive:

Duets or Duos

(Two people who don’t normally sing together singing a song or a musical group that is 2 people, Simon and Garfunkel, Hall and Oates, etc.)

tumblr_mb1q5rcrsX1rsmxh5o1_500

Like Sonny & Cher?

Guess what, I read that “or” as an “and” thereby circumventing the rules this week and including 10, count ’em 10, awesome songs:  5 duos (as in bands with two vocalists singing together) and 5 duets (special pairings).  Ha, Jen, you can’t make me play by the rules!  And since my list should be twice as long as the rule followers, I’m calling it:

Twice As Nice

Let’s start with the duos-

Standing on the Shore- Empire of the Sun

As I’m still fairly new to this mixed bag of musical goodness we call TMT, you all haven’t quite learned that my taste is all over the map.  Seriously, my music collection looks like someone dropped acid and was let loose in Best Buy.  With that being said, let me introduce you to one musical niche for which I’m a sucker, Australian pop.  Yep, anything coming out of the land down under that includes some synthesizers and weird poppy elements is going to find its way right onto my iPod.  Case in point, this duo.  If you’re not already familiar, get ready for a WTF moment.

The Greatest Sum- The Avett Brothers

Right from that insanity into The Avett Brothers.  See what I mean?

This is one of my very favorite love songs.

Wild-Royal Teeth

Here’s some newer pop.  Royal Teeth, I can’t decide if this is a really stupid name for a band or if it just sounds too “hard” for the type of music it is.  Name aside, I dig these guys; mostly the female vocal.  And she’s so stinking pretty that I almost can’t stand her.  She looks like a porcelain doll.  Plus these guys have a keytar in their band.  That is always a bonus.

The Con- Tegan and Sara

Hard to pick a favorite by these two.

Home- Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros

Still my favorite song by this group.  Every time I see them live I have the urge to run off and join a hippie commune.  Life would be so real, man.

And now the duets…… 

You Don’t Know Me- Ben Folds & Regina Spektor

Who hasn’t felt this way in a relationship?  “It was that we were the cliche’, but we just carried on anyway.”  This is a good one to crank up in the car and have a little sing-a-long fun.

Congratulations- Justen Furstenfel (Blue October) & Imogene Heap

This one kills me every single listen.  It’s so beautifully painful.

Beautiful- G. Love & Tristan Prettyman

G. Love is beyond underrated.  This guy…..pure musician.

Say Hello to Heaven- Chris Cornell & Eddie Vedder (Temple of the Dog)

I guess this really belongs in a super group mix, but I can’t complete a list of duets without featuring two of my favorite vocalists together.

Jackson- Florence Welch & Josh Homme

Who doesn’t love this Johnny Cash/June Carter classic?  Also, it’s a way for me to sneak Josh Homme into yet another post.

And since I’m already cheating the system and always looking for ways to push more 311 on people, how about we close with my favorite song by my favorite band:

Running-311

Stay positive & love your life!

-Melissa

Today:

Listening to:  The xx – Angels

Eating:  Arugula and heirloom tomato salad.

Drinking:  H20

Random fact:  My Mom and Dad called me Honeybee as a child.

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

17 thoughts on “Twisted Mix Tape Tuesday: Twice as Nice (Duos and Duets)

  1. OK wow, rule breaker. Wow. This is an amazing list full of lots of stuff I haven’t heard. Had to watch the whole video for Wild, it was captivating. Good Stuff Melissa, good stuff!

  2. I LOVE that Temple of the Dog song! Actually, the whole album is just great! Great list!

  3. p.s. I may start breaking the rules too because I keep coming up with MORE ideas as the day goes on (in addition to the THREE I mentioned in my post!) .. I should have done a Twice as Nice post too! …or Thrice as Nice…

  4. Welcome fellow rule breaker! I never get the mix tapes right! I think it is so cool that you included Sophia and Dorothy for your album art!

  5. Holy wow, that Empire of the Sun is such a bizarre video. But I really like the song and have never heard it before so thank you for sharing!! And swoon to the Avett Brothers. Major Swoon. Your duets are awesome, too. I haven’t heard of any of them except Tristan Prettyman and hadn’t heard that duet before. 311 is awesome – thanks for the intro!

  6. hey! bring back the blue Tuna girls!!

    fun, wide range of music (with rather interesting vids)

  7. Well done on your list! So much I haven’t heard before…going into shock!!! You’ve given me lots of stuff to check out this week.

  8. Damn being English in England again! That first vid (with the ‘WTF’ I was so looking forward to) has not been made available here.

    And now my second Avett Bros song – beautiful. I think it’s Kristi’s fault that I got liking them last week. And now you’ve continued the liking – thanks 🙂

  9. Pingback: TWISTED MIX TAPE TUESDAY-BEAUTIFUL-A DAY LATE | an honest day or two

  10. Pingback: Twisted MixTape Tuesday | Crow Arrow, Inc.

Okay, your turn to talk!

