Twisted Mix Tape Tuesday: Music of the ’00s Part 2

We’re wrapping up the final week of decades posts over at Jen’s Blog Hop and boy do I have a whammy of a mix this week! The only criteria we were given this week was that the songs should come from the 2000s (including the last three years) or before.  Yikes…..that gives me way too much music from which to choose!  So the first limitation I’m going to impose upon myself is that my selections will be from 2010 forward.  Some truly amazing albums have come out in the 2000s (see the ones I included in Part 1 Here), so many that I feel the need to box in my choices a bit to keep from going completely crazy.  Next I’m going to throw a theme on top (shocker, I know):

What’s Old is New

The selections this week harken back to a different time in music (late 60s and 70s) while bringing something new to the table.  Some are psych-rock.  Some are insanely melodious.  Some have that great guitar sound that southern rock introduced years ago.  Some are just so dreamy that I can imagine hippies dancing in circles as they play.  But each brings a new spin to the great classic sounds.

I Don’t Know- The Sheepdogs (2011)

Great classic sounding southern rock coming out of……Canada!

The Hours-Beach House (2012)

Dancing hippies.  Just try to be in a bad mood listening to this.  Impossible.

It’s Working- MGMT (2010)

Anyone who was a fan of their very popular first album, Oracular Spectacular, was a bit shocked when this was released.  It’s a lot more psych-rock than synth-rock-pop.  I happen to be a fan of both and am curious to see what their upcoming new release in September will bring.   And I totally dig this video.

Elephant- Tame Impala (2021)

Anyone else hear John Lennon?  This album is so damn good.  I listened to this song on repeat on several road trips.  Love the line:  “He pulled the windows off his Cadillac. Cause he didn’t want it looking like he looks back.”  Even the video feels very old school.

I Wanna Go Home-Full Service (2012)

You can thank me for introducing you to these guys later.  You’re welcome.

Bonus:  Strings- Full Service (2010)

This was the song that started the obsession.  It kept popping up on my Pandora and each time, I’d stop whatever I was doing and listen.  You just don’t hear harmonies like this anymore.  Fast forward a few years and I’ve seen them on a 311 Cruise, flown to Austin, TX for their Full Service Circus Festival, and even hosted them in my own living room.

I couldn’t find a Youtube video for this one; so here’s the Spotify link:  Full Service – Strings

And for those of you who love the heavier stuff, check out the rest of their catalog.  They’ve got some guitar trashing, plugged in, all out rock tunes as well.  I adore both sides of the band.

FS

Full Service rocking out a living room set for us last year.

And One More Bonus:  Hold On- Alabama Shakes  (2012)

I hear some Creedence inspiration and a whole lot of soul.  I didn’t even know this lead singer was female when I first heard these guys.  Her voice is so raw and powerful.

What bands remind you of yesteryear?

Stay positive & love your life!

-Melissa

Today:

Listening to:  Full Service – Greetings from Beyond

Eating:  Spinach ravioli and brussel sprouts.

Drinking;  H2O

Random fact:  As I’ve mentioned before, I love making my father playlists.  The best part is when I talk to him after and he says, “I like that song that goes…” and he sings the lyrics.  This is one of the last ones he really dug.

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

20 thoughts on “Twisted Mix Tape Tuesday: Music of the ’00s Part 2

  1. I hope this isn’t a repeat. I don’t think my first comment went through. I was just hanging my head in shame because I have never heard of any of the bands you posted. I love any genre of music though and so far I am loving listening to you list. Thank you for tuning me into some great music. 🙂

    • Glad you are enjoying the list! I’m a bit of a music hound, meaning I always have my ear to the ground looking for new stuff. It’s one perk of having a desk job! I can look for new stuff and listen all day. 🙂

  2. wow! All new for me here! Thanks for the introductions. The living room set looked like fun 🙂

  3. I have never heard of any of these! I’m loving Alabama Shakes though and you’re right – I’d never know that the singer is a woman. What a cool voice. Also how awesome that your dad calls you and sings you the song he liked best.

  4. Can I just say the only song I have heard on that whole list is Alabama Shakes. And let me say that I LOVE this list, it is so retro hippie, and I am an old hippie at heart. I am going to have to give all of this a much closer listen when I’m done… ALSO love love Full Service it’s kinda like They Might Be Giants with a twang. A little.

    • Full Service: The guitarist and drummer/singer are brothers. One loves The Beach Boys and the other Mastodon. You can totally get that after listening to all their stuff. Some stuff shreds and some is just overflowing with harmonies.

      Glad you’re diggin it!

  5. The only groups I’d heard of was Alabama Shakes and the Sheepdogs (and I only know them from a Project Runway episode they participated in). But I’m loving all this new to me stuff!

  6. This List is just too freakin’ cool!!! Seriously, I Love it!!! Thanks, Slu

  7. I love Tame Impala and Alabama Shakes. I included their albums on my top 12 of ’12 in December. Great records. Brittany Howard is a revelation. Her Grammys performance is amazing.

    good list

    • Thanks. Tame Impala blows my mind. I was anxiously awaiting this album and the day it was released just listened over and over. It’s so exciting when something far exceeds your expectations.

  8. What a lovely bunch of new musical coconuts for me to grog on!
    And thank you, thank you, thank you for being The One to include Thievery Corporation, my Chuck Love sister!

  9. Yep. You’re a new BFF. Congrats! or Deepest Sympathy! I never can remember which it is.

Okay, your turn to talk!

