Five for Friday: The 5 Saddest Movies of All Time

Come in really close guys. I’m gonna let you in on a little secret. Though I can be tough, loud, and obnoxious, I’m actually a HUGE softie.

Seriously, I cry at everything.

TV Shows.

Publix and Hallmark commercials.

Remember the one where they send the old lady across the street a card? Water works!

And don’t even get me started on how much emotional damage Sarah McLaclan and those damn Humane Society dogs have caused me.

Books.

Don’t ever read “Merle’s Door” unless you’re in a cry safe environment and definitely don’t read it at work on your lunch break unless you’re prepared for everyone to think something catastrophic just happened in your life.

Merles-Door-E9X358L

Dear god, I’m almost crying just thinking about it.

And movies. So many movies.

I definitely have my glaring weak spots: animals (guaranteed to make me lose it), old folks, and love lost in the worst of ways (looking at you cancer, accidents, etc.)

So a few days ago when I came home to catch Matt tearing up during his millionth viewing of Forrest Gump, I decided it was time to share a few tears with you guys. I’m not going to give away any plots and endings as I’d like for you to suffer the same pain I did. Here they are,

The 5 Saddest Movies of All Time

Number 5: Babe (1995) & Charlotte’s Web (2006)

Ok, I know these are two different movies, but they both have pigs, are on a farm, and are about loss of family (and finding new family).

Number 4: AI: Artificial Intelligence (2001)

A lot of people hate this movie, but it’s actually one of my favorites. Wanting to be loved is a theme that runs through everyone’s life story. When I made Bee watch this, he cried for nearly an hour after the credits ended. And he actually did wait for the credits to end. I think he was hoping the producers would come on and say, “Just kidding. Here’s the real, much happier ending.”

david_teddy_and_his_mother_from_ai_artificial_intelligence

David and that poor bear Teddy.

Number 3: One Day (2011)

If you think The Notebook is bad, watch this one. It sneaks right up on you. The weekend I watched this for the first time I spent several hours wallowing around in bed thinking about life and what-ifs.

321900_one-day_-anne-hathaway_-yenn-xyetyeuyej_-dzhim_1920x1080_www.GdeFon.ru_

Number 2: The Help (2011)

Yeah, we all laughed at the “Eat my shit” part. But I spent the other 145 minutes of this movie sobbing. Sobbing, as in a snot bubbles coming out of the nose, chest heaving, eyes burning crying. And that scene when Constantine comes to the door……too much.

tumblr_mqgrw7DIi01s41gato1_500

Number 1: Hachi: A Dog’s Tale (2009)

This is a remake of a Japanese movie from 1987 and also a true story (as if it could get any worse). It makes Marley and Me look like the feelgood story of the decade. Damn dogs get me every time.

Hachiko statue

Real Hachiko memorial in Japan.

Honorable Mentions:

My Girl (1991)

Big Fish (2003)

Life of Pi (2012)

The Boy in the Striped Pajamas (2008)

I’ll leave you with a scene that still crushes me even after seeing this movie too many times to count:

And this picture of my best friend Jovi. That face would cheer anyone up!

482386_10151280093921157_2068226650_n

Stay positive & love your life!

-Melissa

Today:

Listening to: CSS – Faith In Love

Eating: Falafel and lentils

Drinking: H2O

Random fact: My Mom is mildly completely obsessed with Babe.

8 thoughts on “Five for Friday: The 5 Saddest Movies of All Time

  1. Ever see The Champ with Jon Voight and Ricky Schroeder? Other movies that choke me up every time: Terms of Endearment, The Color Purple, Fried Green Tomatoes, and Schindler’s List. I make it a point not to watch those movies where I know a beloved pet is going to die. Thanks, Old Yeller!

    • I think I saw The Champ when I was much younger.
      Every other movie on your list caused breakdowns on my end as well.

      I saw Schindler’s list for the first time in Mr. Cannon’s class. The only thing that helped ease the pain of that movie was him alerting us to watch carefully for the pink jacket. Yeah, thanks, I think we’ll catch the one item on the screen that is in color!

  2. You’re completely obsessed with Babe mom just had to click on the Babe clip. Still makes me tear up. I forgot the dad was going to execute Babe. When Babe says, “I want my mom” will open the flood gates every time!

  3. My husband had me watch AI and made me cry like a baby. It was absolutely brutal. While the Help also made me cry, I felt so good watching it, seeing strong women fight back, I’d totally watch it again. And Hachi about killed me as animal movies break my heart even worse, and I turned into a blubbering puddle by the end. But it was beautiful. Dogs rock.

    Love this post!

  4. Good list. I love ‘My Girl’ that you made mention of. My favorite movie is ‘A Beautiful Mind’. It’s based on a true story and though I suppose the ending is supposed to be a ‘all turned out well’, it makes me cry for what could have been. I cry watching Beaches and The Green Mile. I actually cry at the end of Rambo 2. The ending when he says, “I want what every soldier wants. For our country to love us as much as we love our country.” Jerks the tears every time. 🙂

Okay, your turn to talk!

