No Good Deed Goes Unpunished

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

*Language disclaimer:  This post contains a few F bombs.  So if for some reason you’re easily offended, I beg your pardon.  Their placement is necessary to the authenticity of this post.

A few weeks ago during one of our standard visits to the Mac, Matt and I witnessed an unfortunate exchange of words between a group of other patrons.  It went down like this:

We were walking from an office complex parking lot across the street from TM.  This is the standard for a Friday or Saturday night.  TM is always packed.  Two guys in their 20s were following suit.  An older man in his late 60s pulls up and parks his very nice Lexus LS 350 on the street between TM’s lot and the lot in which we’d parked.  Matt and I looked at each other in amazement, because this is not the type of street on which you can just park your car off to the side.  There’s traffic signals 100 feet up and it runs between multiple businesses.  So it’s clearly illegal and also pretty dumb.  The chances of someone hitting your car are just ridiculously high.  About the time I’m seriously considering saying something to the “gentleman”, I hear one of the guys behind us say,

“Excuse me sir, you may not want to park your car there….”

And before he could even get his entire statement out, the man turns to him and says “Hey, mind your own fucking business. Who do you think you are, telling me where to park.” 

The other guy says, “Sir, we don’t want any trouble.  We just wanted to let you know there is a lot right over there where your car would be a lot safer.” 

“I don’t give a shit what you think.  I’ll park wherever I damn well please.  Now fuck right the fuck off!” screams the old man directly in the guy’s face.  He then stomps into TM where he joins his wife at a table.

The table is just behind where Matt and I sit at the bar and I’m straining to hear what he’s saying to his wife.  I can see him heatedly explaining what happened, but I can’t hear a thing. What could he possibly be saying to her?  “These two assholes told me to move my car.”  “Kids these days have no respect.”  Ha!

I tell Matt, “Oh, I want to call the police and report his illegal park job so badly!  Or wouldn’t it be awesome if someone hit his car.”  Then we both quickly decide to stop talking about it so any of the negative karma swirling around the room doesn’t end up on us.

Matt says, “I’m just glad you didn’t say something to him.” 

Yeah, me too.  It wouldn’t have been cute.

qm gran-torino-trailer-eastwoo

Is this type of exchange why we’re all so disinclined to speak to one another?  Clearly his reaction was unwarranted.  What did the two 20-somethings have to gain from informing him of the lot?  While I’m not ready to give up on humanity as a whole, it’s easy to see why people end up thinking that no good deed goes unpunished.

What do you think?

Stay positive & love your life!

-Melissa

Today:

Listening to:  Edward Sharpe & The Magnetic Zeros – Country Calling  New album, woohoo!

Eating:  Oven fried seitan, brussel sprouts, corn bread.

Drinking:  H20

Random fact:  One of my pet peeves attached to good deeds such as holding a door or the elevator is a lack of a “thank you”.  I’ll settle for a “no problem” or “no worries”, but silence or “uh huh” drive me batty.

Okay, your turn to talk!

