Santa at CD Warehouse

Yesterday after an amazing afternoon of delicious food and craft beer, Matt and I ventured over to CD Warehouse.  I was quite shocked that this place is still in business given the fate suffered by most used CD shops.  I hadn’t visited this area in sometime, but when I lived in Alpharetta, I’d hit this store up rather frequently.  It’s a fun and cheap musical adventure.

As soon as we got inside, Matt asked, “What are you looking for?”  I shrugged.  Because I never know exactly what I hope to find.  I simply skim through the bins, running my fingers over each CD waiting on that one gem that will make my day.   I stop to laugh and utter a “remember this?!” or “God, this album was great.”

While I adore my iPod and in no way do I long for the days of lugging 800 lbs of CDs around or suffering through skipping discs caused by my sever neglect when it came to care, there is something still vastly appealing about opening that cheap plastic shell.  There is still a little bit of magic in picking up a CD based purely on cover alone.  And finding an album you lost long ago is like a brief reunion with your former self.  You instantly are brought back to moments spent listening.  You remember who was there.  You recall your thoughts and dreams.  For me, nothing creates moments of reminiscence quite like music.

I guess CD Warehouse is kind of like Christmas.  I know what I like.  I have a sort of mental wish list.  But what will appear under the tree on Christmas morning is still a mystery.  So imagine my surprise when who to my music seeking eyes should appear, it was Santa though he didn’t have any reindeer.  Seriously guys, Santa actually walked in CD Warehouse.  He was perfect.  The beard, the belly, the jovial face.  Everything was as it should be.  He was even sporting a Santa print shirt.  He walked up the counter and asked, “Do you guys have The Santa Clause 1 and 2?”  A few short minutes later, he left, movies in hand.  And I was left standing by the bargain bin wishing I’d had the foresight to snap a picture.  I turned to Matt and said, “Tomorrow’s blog post just wrote itself.”

PS082709006

What gifts did I find?

Soundgarden- Superunknown  This makes the 4th time I’ve purchased this album.  Who knows where copies 1-3 ended up.

Minus the Bear- Infinity Overhead Digging these guys.  I’d not checked out much aside from “Pachuca Sunrise”.

Various Artists- The Roots of Nirvana- Includes the Melvins, the Meat Puppets, Mudhoney and some other solid bands.  It should be a great listen.

Various Artists- Econium:  A Tribute to Led Zepplin- Another great compilation with bands like STP, Rollins Band, Duran Duran, etc.

Foo Fighters- In Your Honor

Stay postive & love your life!

-Melissa

Today:

Listening to:Minus The Bear – Lonely Gun

Eating:  Leftover couscous and black eyed peas.

Drinking:  Sugarfree Red Bull

Random fact:  I sold the majority of my original CD collection freshman year of college.  I think I got $85.  I’m still kicking myself to this day.  Come to think of it, that’ s likely where my first Soundgarden “Superunknown” disc went.

Okay, your turn to talk!

