100 Word Song Challenge- Inner Ninja

Since I started this blogging adventure (blogventure?), I’ve been continuously plagued by the thought of “where is this going?” I’m not really certain what, exactly, I hope this blog will evolve into. What am I out to achieve? Who do I hope sees it? At this point, people. I’m just eager for people to read and comment. I’m excited by the dialogue that keeps happening with other bloggers/writers more and more each day. And while I don’t yet know exactly what I hope to accomplish with this “little” daily writing exercise, I know it brings me joy. I look forward to posting. As long as that is the case, I suppose having all the answers isn’t necessary.

What does that all have to do with a 100 Word Song Challenge? Well, part of this blogging quest has involved me reading the many blogs of others and I’ve noticed 100 word challenges on several sites. It seems like a great way to push one’s creative writing skills. It also has structure which I crave in almost every aspect of my life. I’ve been toying with the idea of contributing but hadn’t found the sufficient motivation until coming across Lance’s 100 Word Song Challenge. Oh, a way to combine this 100 word thingy with music! Sweet! And so, consider me in like Flynn.

This week’s song:

And my 100 words:

“Who are you? You’re no one. You’ll never work in this industry again!”

She could feel tears building behind her eyes. Why does this happen when I’m angered, she thought. I won’t give him the satisfaction of a single tear.

As he continued his stream of insults, she sat fantasizing. Choking? No, maybe a good kick to the shin would be better. She’d never be able to get her hands around his fat neck.

A break in his words snapped her back to reality. She calmly rose, smoothed the wrinkles in her pants, and exited. Sometimes there’s strength in silence.

Robot-Badge

Apparently this is Leeroy and he selects most of the songs.

Stay positive & love your life!

-Melissa

Today:

Listening to: Peter Bjorn And John – Second Chance

Eating: Leftover couscous and black-eyed peas….again.

Drinking: H2O

Now reading: “After the Funeral: The Posthumous Adventures of Famous Corpses” by Edwin Murphy

Random fact: The reading material above is not out of sorts for me. I’m fascinated by things many would consider morbid.

6 thoughts on “100 Word Song Challenge- Inner Ninja

  1. I like how she was able to disconnect from his tirade and stay calm.

    Welcome to 100 Word Song, I hope you come back again.

  2. This is a great piece. A question and perhaps CONCRIT, do you mean “choking” and not “chocking”?

  3. My team story blog was recently trolled. I wish I had the ability to react calmly. Truth is, not so much.

Okay, your turn to talk!

