Pickles!

Matt and I have been laughing at the fact that my hobbies and interests range from young, fun, hip and sometimes tom-boyish (ie. my love of beer, rock concerts, sports, the outdoors, fitness) to old lady (gardening, baking,canning….I know how to crochet, etc.)  And this weekend I added another notch in my old lady belt;  I made pickles!  To make it even more home-ecish, I made them from cucumbers that came from our garden.  And I can’t even describe how damned excited I am about all of this!  I’m really not sure how I’m going to wait the suggested 3 weeks to sample our wares.  I’m probably going to look at those pickle jars every single day just to see if I can visually surmise how truly amazing they will be!

I suppose I  should wait until we try them to provide you with the recipe, but hey, I have pickles on the brain today.  So that’s what I’m going to write about!

Matt & Melissa’s Super Garlicy Pickles (and Bee helped)

What you’ll need:

4 lbs. of pickles

6 pint jars and accompanying lids

fresh dill (6-8 medium sprigs)

fresh garlic 6 cloves + 6 rounded teaspoons minced

dill seeds 6 teaspoons

6 bay leaves

sugar 2 tablespoons

kosher salt 2 tablespoons

black peppercorns (roughly 36 of them)

mustard seeds 3 teaspoons

apple cider vinegar 1.5 cups

white vinegar 1.5 cups

water 3 cups +2.5 quarts

a large pot

IMG_0547

Prep:

Slice ends off cucumbers then slice in 1/4 inch rounds.  Put the slices in a large pot and cover with 2.5 quarts of water.  Add 3 tablespoons of salt and stir until the salt is dissolved.  Cover and let stand for about 12 hours.

IMG_0546

Drain cucumbers.

Prepare the jars by filling the jars and a large pot with water.  Bring to a boil.  Cover and reduce heat to low to keep the jars hot.

In a pot combine the 1.5 cups of apple cider vinegar, the 1.5 cups of white vinegar, 2 tablespoons of sugar and 2 tablespoons of salt.  Bring to a boil.

Into each of the 6 pint jars, add 1 teaspoon of dill seeds, 1 teaspoon minced garlic, 1/2 teaspoon of mustard seeds, 1 bay leaf, 1-1.5 sprigs of fresh dill, 1 garlic clove, and  3-6 peppercorns.  We also added a dried chili to two jars for a spicier version!

Pack with cucumbers.

IMG_0548

IMG_0550

Notice Jovi in the background.  She supervised the entire process and was unhappy to report that no cucumbers hit the ground.

 

Add hot vinegar mix to each jar leaving 1/2 inches of space at the top.

Seal and place back in a large pot of water.  Water should just cover the tops of the jars.  Bring to a boil and boil gently for 10 minutes.

 

IMG_0553

Someone please buy me a canning pot for Christmas.

 

Carefully remove jars and set aside to cool.

Check seals after 24 hours.

Wait 3 weeks and TASTE your garlicy pickle goodness!

IMG_0554

IMG_0557

They appear to be delicious…time will tell.

 

I will let you guys know how they taste in a few weeks!  Do you have a great pickle recipe?  Share below!

Stay positive & love your life!

-Melissa

 

Today:

Listening to: Fiction 20 Down – Money Come, Money Go

Eating:  Left over pasta

Drinking:  H2O

Random fact:  I love garlic.  A lot.  If I were in culinary school I would be chastised for overwhelming my food with garlic.

 

Okay, your turn to talk!

