Five for Friday: 5 Reasons My Dad is Awesome

So I really don’t have a clever lead-in like I did for my Mothers Day post.  This week at work has been completely insane; thus the bit of blog neglect.  No time at lunch to write.  And I definitely don’t want to be on the computer when I get home.   But there is absolutely no way I can let Fathers Day pass without an Ode to Wendell!

For Mom I just gave a simple 5 reasons, out of the many, she rocks.  I have to go a different direction with Dad.  You see, I am my father’s daughter.  I ended up with so many of his traits it’s ridiculous.  This is why we end up butting heads on occasion.  We are just too similar.  And we know just the right buttons to push. Trust me, I would get on my own nerves if cloning were a possibility!  But I can honestly say that these characteristics have contributed greatly to my success and happiness in life.

So here are five, out of a very long list, great things about my Dad; the five things I’m lucky enough to share with him.

5.  He’s secretly sensitive.

My Dad can, at times, come off as a hard ass.  He’s very assertive.  He likes to be the leader.  It seems like nothing can possibly upset him (aside from firing up his temper).  But I know that he’s actually a big ole softy.  The guy is sensitive, but he’s only going to show that side to the few he really loves and trusts.

4.  He’s handy and resourceful.

He can fix damn near anything!  And he’s not afraid to jump into a project in which he’ll need to learn as he goes.  I’ve seen him do everything from building every bit of a structure by himself to home decor.  And he always has a project going on at the house.  He’s already thought of the next two before he finishes the one on which he’s working.

He’s a problem solver.  The backwards town I’m from “designed” our subdivision without building proper roads, drainage, curbs, leveling of lots, etc.  So anytime it rains the water flows straight into my parents yard.  From the entire neighborhood.  It boggles the mind.  Their house has flooded several times.  And trying to get anything done in good old Branford is like making a diamond from coal.  You need tons of pressure and it’s going to take a billion years.  So Wendell just decided to build his own retention pond in the yard all by himself.  And he made a ton of emergency sandbags.  And fashioned a retaining wall of sorts.  That’s pretty kick ass.

3.  He will never stop learning.

He always has a new fascination.  He finds something that interests him and then researches it to the nth degree.  Then he talks about it non-stop until he’s learned and explored every single iota of information available.  Then he moves on to something else.

I think this is cool because it’s so out of character for the general population.  A lot of  people aren’t curious once they grow up.  They don’t question things that are happening all around them.  They wander through life with blinders on or they’re so set in what they were always told to believe that they’re closed off to new information and experiences.  Not Wendell.  He’ll be 90 years old and telling me about how he knew GMOs were dangerous before they caused all of the issues we’ll be seeing.

And I owe a lot of my love of reading to him.  He’s always been an avid reader.  My obsession with Lord of the Rings stems from him reading me the books as bedtime stories.

smaug

He drew me a picture of Smaug (similar to this) to put on my bedroom door for protection when I was young and afraid of the dark.

2.  He loves music.

I mentioned this before in my post https://melstepp01.wordpress.com/2013/05/10/music-you-are-my-constant-companion/  My Dad doesn’t just listen to music, he feels it!  It encompasses him like a warm blanket on a cold day.  It is one of his basic needs in life.  And he is always open to new music from any genre.  I love burning him playlists to add to his iPod!

We both listen to music constantly (from the time we wake up until we lie down at night) and we listen to it loud!

peach

First album that comes to mind when I think of him.

1.  He cares an awful lot.

Just like the Lorax.  He cares about so many things:  respecting Mother Earth, taking care of his furry family members (he and my Mom taught me just how much of a responsibly it is to have a pet  and what it is to welcome them into your family as  true members), my Mom (he thinks she hung the moon….he’s right), and his kids (he’d do anything for my brother and me).

lorax

His mustache even kind of looks like the Lorax….

But there are two areas in which he chooses to care that mean the most to me:

He cares about himself…..finally.  He finally realized his life and body are a temple and what you put in is what you get out.  I’m so glad to see him taking care of himself, because that means I will have him around for many more years to come.

He cares for family members that honestly don’t deserve it.  The fact that he can “be the bigger person” and be there when needed with open arms without so much as a thank you uttered in his direction just says everything about who he really is, one hell of a guy!

So there you have it.  My Dad is the best and I’m proud and happy to be his daughter!

dad

Here he is snuggled up for a nap with Sugar.

Stay positive & love your life!

-Melissa

Today:

Listening to:  Tom Petty – Free Fallin’

Eating:  The last of the leftover beans.

Drinking:  H2O

Random fact:  My Dad used to wiggle his ears and make lizard faces to make Dustin and me laugh.  Actually, he still does this.  And it still makes me laugh.

3 thoughts on “Five for Friday: 5 Reasons My Dad is Awesome

  1. Dads! They sure are something special. Great post.

  2. Pingback: Quick Stepp | Twisted Mix Tape Tuesday: Music of the ’00s Part 2

Okay, your turn to talk!

