Drake Should’ve Stayed on DeGrassi: How I Know I’m Getting Older

I’m getting old. Well, I guess 33 isn’t technically old, but I have finally gotten to that age where I’ve realized I’m older. Trust me, I’m really not complaining. My thirties have been my very favorite years thus far (I’ll do another post on why they’re far superior to the teens and 20s), but things are definitely different and I catch myself doing things I’ve never done before:

Waking up with a hangover after drinking like 3 beers.

Now this doesn’t happen all the time. And as a beer lover, I’m very thankful for that. But it happens. Back in the day I could go hard all night, get three hours of sleep, and then be up early for work/school/what have you. But now I really have to plan my night activities around things like: Do I have to get up early tomorrow? OK, I have to get up early, but must I contribute anything physically or mentally challenging when I do get up? Did I properly hydrate today? Have I eaten or will there be food where I’m going?

I mean, a lot of prep work has to go into the planning of a night with drinks or I know I’m likely to be paying the consequences.

I see today’s youth and do things like shake my head or say, “I just don’t get it” or “Kids these days _____.”

Fill in the blank with: have no respect, are lazy, don’t know anything about music, are entitled, etc. I don’t do this all the time, but I do it enough. And yes, I realize I sound like some crotchety old man. But I do actually think all of these things. Not all Millennials are like this, but a lot are.

I laugh as trends that were popular back in my youth come back.

Case in point: high-waisted, cut-off, jean shorts. They looked horrible back in the 90s and they still look like crap. I went to a one day music festival a few weeks ago and just sat in baffled amusement as nearly 70% of the girls in attendance pranced by in these shorts. Maybe I don’t have my finger on the fashion pulse, but I don’t get why you’d want your ass to look like a pancake.

BKlKjQnCIAA2meQ.jpg large

This pair is actually one of the better looking ones I witnessed.

My body develops aches and pains that I can’t tie to anything.

I’m pretty active. I make sure to hit the gym/run at least 3 times a week. So I know about being sore from working out. That’s not what I’m alluding to. I’m talking about random injuries that crop up out of nowhere, hang out for a week or so, and then fade away (thank goodness). Last week it was a strained calf. I went for a normal run….actually an easier run that I’m used to. Woke up the next day, bam, what the hell happened? I miss knowing how and when I injured myself.

It’s 10:00 pm and I’m tired.

This could tie in with the hangover piece. I can’t use my early out of bed time as an excuse, because that never stopped me years ago. At the end of the day, there are a lot of times I just can’t hang.

My best girlfriend Kasi is in the same boat. While in New Orleans visiting her for Voodoo Fest for the last few years, we’ve forgone Bourbon Street post show for a evening on the nice, comfy couch. Year one went like this,

Me, “So would you be upset if I said let’s skip Bourbon?”

Kasi, “No! Thank God you said that. Let’s go home get in our PJs, wrap up in a Snuggie, and watch Beavis and Butthead.”

Last year we had Bee with us. [Read about him here: https://melstepp01.wordpress.com/2013/05/28/prosecutors-will-be-violated-or-i-dont-think-thats-a-good-idea/ ] He’s 25 and wasn’t too happy with how it went down:

I give Kasi a sideways glance that says, “I don’t want to go to Bourbon. Couch??”

Kasi nods.

I tell Bee we aren’t going and that we’re headed home to get in our PJs, wrap up in a Snuggie, and watch Big Bang Theory.

Bee pitches a fit until we agree to at least stop and get him fries at Checkers.

Kasi and I love a good, early night in. On our 311 Cruise this year we ended up in the cabin watching a Chris Hansen To Catch a Predator marathon at 9:30. Yes, I know it’s lame. But we always have fun anyway.

625408_10200777684634353_1161726600_n

Look at these two old ladies.

The music kids listen to these days really does suck….for the most part.

Doesn’t really need an explanation. Just listen to a Top 40 station. See how much actual music you hear.

drake1

This guy should’ve stay on Degrassi

imagesgf

Look at these toads.

Taylor+Swift

And don’t get me started on this one.

So all in all, I’m getting older. But you know what? I wouldn’t go back and be a twenty something if someone paid me (unless it is a whole lot of money). Aside from the really superficial gripes listed above, 30 is fabulous! And life is good.

Stay positive & love your life.

-Melissa

Today:

Listening to: Temple Of The Dog – Hunger Strike

Eating: Leftover pasta.

Drinking: H2O

Random fact: I have a major crush on Conan O’Brien.

9 thoughts on “Drake Should’ve Stayed on DeGrassi: How I Know I’m Getting Older

  1. If you are older, then I am oldest at 40. So Bitter!

  2. Pingback: Quick Stepp: music, memories, food, fitness and randomness. | My 4th of July: Rain, drinking, rain, drinking, and some more rain.

  3. Pingback: Quick Stepp | Five for Friday: 5 Reasons Getting Older Sucks

  4. Pingback: Quick Stepp | Five for Friday: Rapper’s Delight

Okay, your turn to talk!

